We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food and Gracious Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lobby Nesplein Restaurant & Bar

The Lobby Nesplein Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with
The Lobby Nesplein Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $39
Cuisines: Dutch, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: BREAKFAST/LUNCH/BRUNCH: Not to brag, but we have what could possibly be the best Eggs Benedict in town. Try us! Also, our flammkuchen is to die for. DINNER: A la Carte or a 3-course menu for just 36 euro per person. Pair your dinner with wine specially sourced from our amazing sommelier and you have yourself a perfect night out. The Lobby: a unique location in Hotel V Nesplein where Amsterdammers and internationals can meet and converge, featuring a restaurant (breakfast, lunch & dinner), a gorgeous open wood fireplace, a terrace overlooking the Nes square, and a small stage for events. The emphasis is on high quality dishes and drinks served in a unpretentious manner by funky staff who want to make your stay memorable.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Gracious Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Lobby Restaurant is located in the lobby of Hotel V, where we spent 4 nights in Amsterdam. We dined 2 nights at this restaurant and both times we were glad that the hotel offered such a nice restaurant. The service is attentive, timely and proper without being ostentatious. The food is fresh and deliciously seasoned. The wine list has something for everyone. We just wish that we could find the dishes offered at this restaurant in the area we live. If you like to visit this restaurant, please make sure you have a reservation; the 2 nights we dined at the Lobby it was packed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    227
    26
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very creative, well-prepared dinner. Had Plaice fish with chopped razorback clams, with several sides on plate. The combination of things on the plate was definitely better than the sum of the parts, a sign of a great chef. Would definitely go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CherylN625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great dinner in The Lobby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Lobby is part of a hotel (Hotel V). In Amsterdam, locals don't normally go to hotel bars/restaurants for dinner or drinks but the place already caught my eye a couple of months ago and after a couple of nice evenings at the bar, I decided to host a little suprise dinner for my partner there. It was a great success..

What I liked:
- Staff, Staff, Staff: These guys show passion for their work: friendly, have knowledge about their food & wines, paid good attention to what was going on at our table without being intrusive
- Menu & Quality of the food: They have a very nice menu (don't remember exactly but 8 starters, mains and 6 dessers) and 3 course meal for 33 Eur (and you choose from all starters, mains and dessters) and the quality of the products they use is very good
- Interior & Location: the place is located on a small street and has a nice big terrace on the adjecent square: when the weathers good ourside you can have dinner there and when it got too cold, they had a table for us ready inside. The look of the place is very warm, fireplace, wood, cool bar..
- you get water without having to beg for it. Unlike a lot of other places in town where they "don't have tap water", here you get it without having to ask for it.

What I don't like:
- reservation process online was a bit vague..
- that it's probably going to be very busy soon...

Summarized: this is an excellent casual restaurant in the center of Amsterdam that offers great value for money

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rinus74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at The Lobby Nesplein Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your meal at The Lobby! Even though you are local, we love that you decided to give us a try, because that is really what we are aiming for- a nice mix of locals and visitors to Amsterdam. So thank you for giving it a shot!

And for your min points:
- reservation process online was a bit vague.. <- I understand. Will pass this on to the website manager. For the next time, you can also reserve by emailing thelobby@hotelv.nl Maybe that is easier?
- that it's probably going to be very busy soon... <- Aaaah! :) Can't help you there, because this is what we hope for!

See you again some time!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
415 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We 'found' this restaurant when we stayed at the Hotel V Nesplein, and enjoyed our afternoon drinks and snacks here between daytime sightseeing and nighttime entertainment. We enjoyed it so much, that we took a train from our overnight hotel at Schipol Airport back into Amsterdam to come and have dinner here on our last night. The menu is trendy and the service is great. Highly recommend darting down Nes Street from Dam Plein to come and try it out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlexisZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at The Lobby Nesplein Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Wow, that is such a compliment! Thank you so much for your patronage, and hope to see you back in Amsterdam one day soon!

Until then,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skovlunde, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Highly underrated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This little "Gastropub" was supprisingly cheap considering what we got to eat.

Great flavours, great wine, excellent service.

I had some trouble finding the right wine, so the waiter let me taste four diffent wines befor choosing.

Helpful?
Thank Kristian N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at The Lobby Nesplein Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your meal at The Lobby. We are so happy that you enjoyed it.
Hope to see you again one day soon!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed The Lobby Nesplein Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Lobby Nesplein Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing