We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“2 Ladies, rainy Sunday in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wannemakers

Wannemakers
Ranked #1,037 of 3,373 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2 Ladies, rainy Sunday in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stumbled in to Wannamakers on a rainy Sunday afternoon. The staff was great and engaged in conversations of things to do locally. The lunch was delicious! We got a little education on beer while waiting for our lunch. Highly recommend!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    25
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visited four times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Group of three in Amsterdam for a week and serendipitously ended up at Wannemakers four times. Brunch one time, lunch twice and then once for drinks. Great location, quiet but just off Dam Square. Great style, both inside and out, food was delicious, great service, attended to all our requests with a smile. The owner was present on all visits and welcomed and remembered us on each visit. Will look forward to a return visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous place, lovely food and such a welcome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We visited Wannemakers in September 2013 for dinner. It was the last evening of our trip so I was really hoping it would be a special place and I was not disappointed.The food was lovely and we all enjoyed it immensely. The thing that sets this restaurant apart from others is the warmth of the welcome we received and how well they looked after us during the evening. The staff are passionate about their food (and drink!) and genuinely warm, friendly and funny. We felt like we'd been going there for years! I would definitely go back and will definitely recommend it. As a previous reviewer said - it is a gem!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AOC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked a table for Saturday night on a weekend visit to Amsterdam. We were hoping for nice food. Our evening surpassed all expectations. We got wonderful food, the friendliest staff you could wish for, and a really enjoyable night out. The guys who run the place love their food, selection of drinks (five types of gin - we had basil gin), and customers. We absolutely loved it and will be recommending anyone we know who is visiting Amsterdam to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool, england
Level Contributor
189 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Lovely canal-side setting, with classy interior too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Visited on 25th July - a nice sunny day; we had intended calling at another place - one of our usual haunts - but as it was very busy and people already waiting we decided to stroll up Singel and find somewhere else, and I am so pleased we did.

This place wasnt easily recognised as a restaurant, and when it was we were unsure they were opened, but what drew us to the place was the terrace - right next to the canal - and the bright red blankets, for chilly breezy days.

It was around noon and we had been looking for brunch, and spotted the ideal thing - eggs benedict. They came on 3 little brioche rolls, very plentiful. The Brioches were so tasty, with Mediterranean style veggies in them for extra taste and the eggs cooked perfectly, not too running but with a yolk that gives.

Hubby enjoyed his coffee, and his beer later as we sat enjoying the sun and the view, while I enjoyed my cup of tea.

Only drawback was that the menu is only in Dutch - the waitress explained they are building a clientèle of locals and not really aiming at the tourists, although of course they are very welcome - and indeed, we were made to feel welcome.

As for access, the canalside terrace is easily accessed for wheelchair users, the inside has a small step to negotiate but it was easy to access - only problem for access was there isnt a toilet on the ground floor.

Will definitely go here again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank juejosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wannemakers also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
North Holland Province, The Netherlands
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Wannemakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing