We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent chocolate paste!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaamschbroodhuys

Vlaamschbroodhuys
Ranked #2,555 of 3,425 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Belgian, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
126 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent chocolate paste!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Good selection of breads and home made jams and chocolate paste. The chocolate paste is delicious and you would want to take some home. Plates are well presented and enough portions are served. Very nice place to have breakfast or a light lunch.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dmejias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    5
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The breakfast here is delicious- we had yoghurt and museli, and croissant with jam. I'd say that the portions were generous given how cheap it was. They have a good range of teas too. I'd definitely recommend! Please note that they only take card payment, no cash.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghGirl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast, service could be better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This bakery was just down the road from our hotel and so we popped in for breakfast one day. The breakfast menu was quite limited and so we settled on a light lunch. Upon entering we ended up finding our own seat as there was no staff to show us to a seat, they were slow to come and take our order and despite asking two different waitors for a glass of water it did not appear. On the upside though the lunch we both had was very yummy, the portion sizes good and the fresh bakery croassiatnts and brioches afterwards delicious, just a shame the service didn't match the high standard of food

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeLee883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very slow service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We have waited more than half hour to have sandwich! !! When u compare to other lunchrooms in the city, this is not a good choice. Save your time and stay away from this lunchroom.

Helpful?
1 Thank esyrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good quick place for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Excellent pastries and breads. Stopped there almost daily to pickup some treat. Only accepts debit/credit cards--no cash. Friendly and good value for money.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaamschbroodhuys also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaamschbroodhuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing