We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
Ranked #179 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Good spot ideal for museums, restaurants and tram stop. After an I initial issue with our room allocation that was quickly resolved we had good and comfortable stay here. The quad family room was a good size, the staff all friendly and helpful. Beware of very steep stairs to get to 4th floor rooms

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spendloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 546 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank IndoThai
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

First, the good. My room (201 at the back of the hotel) was recently refurbished, clean, quiet and spotlessly made up by the housekeeping staff. The hotel's location is on the outer ring of canals, only two minutes walk from a tram stop that will take you anywhere you want to go (with connections). It's a little over ten minutes walk from the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum, and the Concertgebouw.
Unfortunately, there is the not so good. First, there is no lobby or public area to sit, apart from a sofa or two in front of the reception desk. Second, after making your way around a darkened corridor, you are confronted with a lift that can take two or three minutes to arrive at peak times. Peak times means from around 8.30 am when people are trying to access the basement for breakfast through to 11.00 am when people are checking out or going out for the day but the housekeeping staff need the lift to service the rooms.
Overall, If you get a good room, a good price, and you're not the sort of person who gets upset by things like a slow lift, then this is a quite okay place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanshan-osaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The modern, stylish decor means that what could otherwise be quite a cramped hotel feels much roomier and lighter than many similar buildings might do. Highly recommended - great location in Amsterdam too, with the trendy El Pijp district on the doorstep and a short stroll to the canal ring.

Oh and the bed was super-comfy too!

Room Tip: I'd avoid one by the ground floor lifts because they're slow so people wait a lot. We were l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My family stayed three nights in two separate rooms in October.
Very good location and easy to walk to most places.
Rooms were very clean and modern. Beds were very comfortable and WIFI worked very well in the rooms.
Breakfast was very good, and generally staff and service was excellent.
Parking is limited at the rear of the property, but works well if you get access.
The lift is a bit slow, and stairs like all houses in Amsterdam very steep.
I would stay there again as it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift as guests returning late pass by your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Traveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have been delighted with our 5 days break in Amsterdam. It was our first time in an Ibis Styles. We were made welcome by the staff, they were very friendly and very informative when we required advice. We have used Ibis on a regular basis in France and various hotel around the world but this one has been the best, a credit to your staff. The room we had had a lot of character, which made us feel more at home than a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Jean- Pierre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

It's a fine hotel in a excellent place.The rooms are small but very clean ; is well furnished but would require a hanger(coat rack) for wet clothes or umbrellas .The lighting in the bath are very poor.The staff are very friendly and helpful.The breakfast was good.
I will ,certainly, stay at this hotel again when I visit Amsterdam;for the same money(good value for money).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIRON G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
#142 of 374 in Amsterdam
949 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#115 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#75 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,009 reviews
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#130 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,590 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#99 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel

Address: Stadhouderskade 131, 1074 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $103 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing