We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean, would recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
Ranked #179 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    242
    125
    44
    16
See reviews for
116
207
38
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Osaka, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

First, the good. My room (201 at the back of the hotel) was recently refurbished, clean, quiet and spotlessly made up by the housekeeping staff. The hotel's location is on the outer ring of canals, only two minutes walk from a tram stop that will take you anywhere you want to go (with connections). It's a little over ten minutes walk from the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum, and the Concertgebouw.
Unfortunately, there is the not so good. First, there is no lobby or public area to sit, apart from a sofa or two in front of the reception desk. Second, after making your way around a darkened corridor, you are confronted with a lift that can take two or three minutes to arrive at peak times. Peak times means from around 8.30 am when people are trying to access the basement for breakfast through to 11.00 am when people are checking out or going out for the day but the housekeeping staff need the lift to service the rooms.
Overall, If you get a good room, a good price, and you're not the sort of person who gets upset by things like a slow lift, then this is a quite okay place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanshan-osaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The modern, stylish decor means that what could otherwise be quite a cramped hotel feels much roomier and lighter than many similar buildings might do. Highly recommended - great location in Amsterdam too, with the trendy El Pijp district on the doorstep and a short stroll to the canal ring.

Oh and the bed was super-comfy too!

Room Tip: I'd avoid one by the ground floor lifts because they're slow so people wait a lot. We were l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My family stayed three nights in two separate rooms in October.
Very good location and easy to walk to most places.
Rooms were very clean and modern. Beds were very comfortable and WIFI worked very well in the rooms.
Breakfast was very good, and generally staff and service was excellent.
Parking is limited at the rear of the property, but works well if you get access.
The lift is a bit slow, and stairs like all houses in Amsterdam very steep.
I would stay there again as it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift as guests returning late pass by your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Traveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have been delighted with our 5 days break in Amsterdam. It was our first time in an Ibis Styles. We were made welcome by the staff, they were very friendly and very informative when we required advice. We have used Ibis on a regular basis in France and various hotel around the world but this one has been the best, a credit to your staff. The room we had had a lot of character, which made us feel more at home than a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jean- Pierre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barlad, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

It's a fine hotel in a excellent place.The rooms are small but very clean ; is well furnished but would require a hanger(coat rack) for wet clothes or umbrellas .The lighting in the bath are very poor.The staff are very friendly and helpful.The breakfast was good.
I will ,certainly, stay at this hotel again when I visit Amsterdam;for the same money(good value for money).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIRON G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during a business trip. It was initially supposed to be a single room but we upgraded to a double. We ended up with a room on the 3rd floor with a nice view of the canal.

Pros:
The room itself was tiny as the bed took up most of the space but it was a nice and comfortable bed. Everything was very clean and room service did a good job during our 3 night stay. The shower was good though I wish it was a bit bigger. Breakfast was probably my favorite part as they had a wide variety of everything - eggs always freshly made, meats, cheeses, breads (including amazing croissants), cereals, yogurt, fruit, really great coffee, juices - pretty much everything!

Cons:
I did not like the fact that the lighting in the bathroom was very poor as one of the light bulbs was out. There are no adequate mirrors in the room. It has one large mirror, however, it is tinted and awkwardly placed; I had a hard time getting ready for work in the morning.
The phone did not work and it was not even plugged into the wall.
Finally, very, very, veryyyy slow elevator. It's also very small but that was not an issue for me.

One thing I found annoying but is not uncommon is that everything is controlled by your keycard (lights and tv). So you need to remember and remind anyone staying with you not to take the key card out when leaving (especially if you happen to be in the shower!)

I would stay again and recommend this place to others as the location is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellies J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
#146 of 368 in Amsterdam
920 reviews
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#112 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,758 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Asterisk
#143 of 368 in Amsterdam
448 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#109 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel

Property: Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
Address: Stadhouderskade 131, 1074 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing