We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but wouldn't be my first choice for return trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Amsterdam Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Ranked #82 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice but wouldn't be my first choice for return trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed here May 19-21,2014 and were in room #2 which is just off the lobby on the street side. The weather was very warm and as mentioned before there is no individual control of thermostat. That combined with the fact that the hotel was not even able to provide any ice for cold drinks was pretty disappointing. (Note -I asked two different employees about the warmness of the room and for ice.) Should have thought to ask for a fan but non was offered either. The extremely deep tub was a life saver once filled with cold water...yes it was that hot and the heavy drapes did little to help with the heat of the sun beating down on the street side of the hotel. Their response regarding ice was "they sell it all around here". Very vague answer as to where exactly and in my experience could not find anywhere within a three block radius.

On a positive note, the bed was very comfortable! As a side note, I have traveled in Europe quite a bit and am familiar with the differences between their hotels versus the US. However I had a much more comfortable stay (with individual thermostat and availability of ice cubes) on a previous trip to Amsterdam which was an "economy" hotel for one third the cost of this one. It all depends on what is most important to you, the ACH room was very pretty but creature comforts not to the minimum level I expect for the rate charged per night. The location was okay but didn't offer any better convenience than many many other hotels.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank metravelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    104
    29
    10
    8
See reviews for
35
186
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Really enjoyed staying here with a friend with a few minor exceptions. First, the new wing is very modern and overlooks the canal. But this modern aesthetic does have one major drawback -- the bathroom is actually glassed in and is only frosted in the middle, so if you're traveling with anyone but your spouse or partner this may become uncomfortable with two people sharing a room. Secondly, we were never told that breakfast was an add-on that was included in every reservation with no exceptions. This ended up being 27 euros for three days which is not that expensive, but money better spent at any number of restaurants in the city with wonderful breakfast or brunch options.

Staff was also very friendly, but a bit vague on directions -- this starts with the welcome letter you get that says that the #4 tram is just one of two options for getting around nearby. Actually, there's FOUR trams nearby but you only find this out on your own or with some teeth pulling. Same thing with directions -- the staff is very attentive and want to help but again vague. They don't tell you how many blocks over or how many bridges up -- just turn left or right and head in this or that direction (which often resulted in us resorting to google maps since the map they provide doesn't list every street name).

Overall, I would suggest staying here -- just be aware of these issues in advance so you're not frustrated or surprised when they pop up.

Room Tip: Get the executive room or you'll end up with port hole windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skrecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Amsterdam Canal Hotel is a beautiful property located in walking distance to pretty much everything. We had a beautiful room on the fourth floor which looked over a canal, was bright, modern and impeccably clean. The room also had a wonderful bathroom with all the amenities as well a mini-fridge (with complimentary drinks and snacks) that came in quite handy.

During our stay the staff was very helpful and accomodating. We dealt with Roger on most occassions during our stay, he was so helpful, friendly and always had a smile on his face no matter what our inquiry was.

The breakfast was good, more than satisfying and the eating area was also lovely as it backed right onto the canal. You had your choice to sit inside or outside on the patio.

As mentioned in other reviews, the only thing to note about this property is the stairs. Our room being on the fourth floor was somewhat of a trek but in no way a hardship or problem. At the beginning or our stay we were winded each time we climbed to our room but by the end of our stay we were able to venture up the stairs in record time! The only thing to consider is If you have mobility problems, this property may not be for you as there is no elevator available.

If we should return to Amsterdam we would without a doubt book with this hotel again. We throughly enjoyed our stay and all aspects of our stay were excellent.

Thanks Amsterdam Canal Hotel! Until next time.......

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japa34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, in a old amsterdam mansion. Breakfast above the average. Rooms very confortable. Staff very cooperative and willing to help. The localization is very good, you can walk to almost all amsterdam attractions. You can also get a tram easily , if you will. The price is a bit expensive, just as any place in amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrunoBenatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

small hotel. no lobby, no facilities. small rooms. nice canal view. good sufficient breakfast.
no elevator. but typical dutch hotel , i guess.
everything is just enough , but a bit stingy.
i think the price is too high , but i don't have experience in dutch hotels.

Room Tip: ask for room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed here for 4 nights with a 1 year old baby. The staff were very attentive, friendly and welcoming. They provided us with a very modern travel cot with our son slept very comfortably in! The hotel is in a great location, you can walk to almost anywhere in the city. Breakfast was simple (I'll never enjoy cold meats and bread for breakfast - but there were other options!) The room we had was in the basement which were initially disappointed with but the hotel was full and the room was actually fine. The bathroom was clean and the shower was amazing! The beds were also amazing. Very comfy. Only 2 negative points for us - the room was boiling. After asking how we work the thermostat we were told the hotel was controlled by one and we couldn't individually cool our room down. The guy on reception straight away went and got us a portable fan which helped loads and was essential. So although a negative point the situation was resolved quickly. The other problem was the noise from the street outside. Our room in the basement had its windows on the pavement outside. We got used to it but occasionally we were woken by drunken people walking past at all hours of the night and the noisy trams.
But negative points aside, all in all our stay was a lovely one! The staff were very accommodating to our requirements of travelling with a baby and were only happy to help when we had a query!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Meganlgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Our room was large and spacious in the new extension next door. The glass bathroom wall was a bit awkward as we were two friends sharing but there was a large loud TV to drown out any embarrassments! The room was on the road which wasn't a problem with the windows shut, but it did get very warm. So ask for a room on the canal side.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was excellent for a continental version, lots of fresh fruit, and delicious croissants. Its also in a great location near to the museums, and the centre.

Room Tip: canal side for a quieter night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garden_Design_By_JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#65 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#135 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#111 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#75 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amsterdam Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amsterdam Canal Hotel

Property: The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Address: Weteringschans 253, 1017 XJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Amsterdam Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel reinvents the urban hotel for the people who look for a quality visit in exciting Amsterdam. We crave experience more than hospitality clichés. We are curious about the historic buildings we inhabit and let them guide us to someplace both warm, fresh and authentic. We appeal to a broad spectrum of urban travelers, without reducing everything to the lowest common denominator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Amsterdam Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing