We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Ranked #53 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Our room was large and spacious in the new extension next door. The glass bathroom wall was a bit awkward as we were two friends sharing but there was a large loud TV to drown out any embarrassments! The room was on the road which wasn't a problem with the windows shut, but it did get very warm. So ask for a room on the canal side.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was excellent for a continental version, lots of fresh fruit, and delicious croissants. Its also in a great location near to the museums, and the centre.

Room Tip: canal side for a quieter night
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garden_Design_By_JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 470 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

The gentleman who was the front desk staff was a very gracious host. He helped us with directions to and from the Park and Ride. The breakfast (included) was delicious, more than just simple. Room which are not on the canal side have traffic noise so bring your noise machine or upgrade to a canal room. Also the smaller rooms have a transparent bathroom door so your family can watch you go potty:). 10 minute walk to city centre. Close to well known museums. There is a tram at the corner which takes you straight to the train station and or Park and ride (Olympic Stadium). Free coffee and tea in every room. Safe box. Closet. Hair dryer.

Room Tip: Get canal side room not street side
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mac-n-Chez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The staff was beyond nice. The breakfast (included) was delicious, more than just simple (with someone on site for your every need). Check in was easy and fast. They upgraded us for free because our room was small and my best friend and I felt awkward sharing the transparent bathroom door in our room. The room they put us is was amazing, everything is new and modern. The lighting in the room was amazing, with a view of the canal. The beds are HIGH quality. No noise. Close to well known museums. There is a tram at the corner which takes you straight to the train station. Not expensive for my taste but then again I split the room with a friend, and I also live in Paris France where almost all hotels cost a fortune. Free coffee and tea in every room. Safe box. Closet. Hair dryer. And my favorite part.... a bathtub with jets. Complimentary soaps and what not. Towels. Everything was perfect basically.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zay272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I have recently returned from a four night stay at 'The Amsterdam Canal Hotel', and it was a great base for exploring the delights of the city.
Within walking distance there are some great bars/restaurants, shops, and museums. Its also close to major tram stops, which makes so easy to whizz around the city.
The rooms are quite small, and the staircases are extremely steep and winding. Fine for me, but not so good if your are elderly, or have mobility problems.
The cost of breakfast was included in the price when booking the room, but my eyes watered when I saw a break down of the bill and found they charge a staggering 27 euros for some cold meat, cheese and bread.
Why are Northern European cities so expensive!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ROBIN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Spent one night at the Amsterdam Canal Hotel as I work around the corner and had an early morning the next day so decided to stay there instead of travelling back home for two hours.

I first stayed in room 11 and was pleasantly suprised nice spacious roombut I wanted a bath and had to pay 30 euros more for a bath (bit pricey) and was then moved to the ground floor in room 2.

The good points of this place is that the staff was very friendly (genuine) and attentive. i ordered food and when the delivery guy came they not only brought the food to my room but accompanied by a plate and cutlery 9not all hotels do that).

The mini bar was free filled with chocolates snacks and a variety of drinks.
Complimentary tea and coffee was also available.

The room was very clean the bed was heaven! (hastings)

There were however some minor points that would/could just make that extra difference if sorted out.

- There were no side tables
- Towels could be fluffier
- Jacuzzi bath did not work ?
- No phone in the room

These were just a few small things. I still am very happy with the room, service and the breakfast was great - no real complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeceeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Despite the lack of a bar or restaurant, as a base the hotel provides a decent standard of accommodation in a fairly central position to explore the delights of this wonderful city. Learning about trams will ease travel.
Our room was on the ground floor with canal views through unusual shaped windows and had a wonderful bathroom. The only negative was access to the bed which was hemmed in by the room shape which was a shame as the beds are world class in comfort terms. The shower was fantastic but care was needed on the loo seat which was tight up against the radiator.
Breakfast was simple and more than adequate with lovely views of the canal from the outside terrace.
The stairs are steep but manageable with care. These access reception from the street entrance and the basement where breakfast is served.
Staff are young and helpful. Overall you get a good room for a reasonable price which includes free wifi and great coffee. I believe a bar will open soon but there is no shortage of bars and restaurants nearby.
Verdict, try it as we will return on our next visit.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was our first stay at the Amsterdam Canal Hotel but definitely not our last. We stayed there for just a night in room no. 34, with the canal view. The room was spotless, veeery confy king size bed, free mini-bar, free amenities, amazing bathroom with rainshower and jacuzzi. Location was also perfect for us, as the Hotel is very close to the Heineken Experience, Rijksmuseum and the Hop on-Hop off Canal boat trip station and is about 30min walking to the Central Station. Breakfast was fantastic, we felt like we were in a quality restaurant, with small selection of cheeses, smoked salmon, ham, fruit and juices.
The hotel is decorated very modern and stylish and is very well managed. All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. We would recommend this hotel to everyone!!! Thank you very much for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Room on a higher floor with canal view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriela_Olteanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,190 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#54 of 371 in Amsterdam
865 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,344 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#42 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amsterdam Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amsterdam Canal Hotel

Address: Weteringschans 253, 1017 XJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $184 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Amsterdam Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel reinvents the urban hotel for the people who look for a quality visit in exciting Amsterdam. We crave experience more than hospitality clichés. We are curious about the historic buildings we inhabit and let them guide us to someplace both warm, fresh and authentic. We appeal to a broad spectrum of urban travelers, without reducing everything to the lowest common denominator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, HRS, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Amsterdam Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing