We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely short break.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Ranked #53 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was our first stay at the Amsterdam Canal Hotel but definitely not our last. We stayed there for just a night in room no. 34, with the canal view. The room was spotless, veeery confy king size bed, free mini-bar, free amenities, amazing bathroom with rainshower and jacuzzi. Location was also perfect for us, as the Hotel is very close to the Heineken Experience, Rijksmuseum and the Hop on-Hop off Canal boat trip station and is about 30min walking to the Central Station. Breakfast was fantastic, we felt like we were in a quality restaurant, with small selection of cheeses, smoked salmon, ham, fruit and juices.
The hotel is decorated very modern and stylish and is very well managed. All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. We would recommend this hotel to everyone!!! Thank you very much for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Room on a higher floor with canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriela_Olteanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 477 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

I am every month 1 week in Amsterdam for my work for 4 years now. I have slept in many hotels 2 3 and 4 stars. I must honestly say this was with a clear mile THE BEST hotel I ever stayed in, in Ams. Service level is on a very high level. Why?
Reception showed me the room , brought my luggage there , handed me slippers and a bathcloth of Hastings. The bed is of the same company and I can garantee you, its better then ur bed at home. U dont want 2 get out of bed in the morning :)))) full minibar with enough choice all free of charge. Nice espresso machine 2 make ur coffee . I am proud 2 say that I have found after 4 years my favourite hotel in Amsterdam. Do book the hotel on their homepage as u get the best price there.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank GlobResTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed in The Amsterdam Hotel for 2 nights on a short break to Amsterdam, Location was perfect for us, Trams outside hotel to dam square or a lovely walk, close by all attractions. We were in no 1 room which was spotless, free min fridge with juice and sweets, tea, coffee, hairdryer. free wifi with excellent speed. The Bathroom was amazing, rainshower, large marbel bath with jacuzzi. Staff where excellent, polite helpful. We would recommend this hotel to everyone. Even thought the breakfast was nice, we missed our english breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I booked three rooms for a work trip to Amsterdam after finding the hotel on a booking website. We were all really impressed with the quality of the rooms and the friendly staff. The rooms were very clean and had lots of nice touches like a free minibar, wifi and a nespresso machine and the beds were very comfortable with good quality linen, duvet and pillows. We actually felt a bit sad that we only spent one night there as we all slept so well!

The staff are all really friendly and helpful, from the receptionist and cleaners, to the chef who greeted us at breakfast. This place is obviously well managed.

Don't be put off by the location as it's not right in the centre, you can easily walk into town or catch a tram.

This is a great hotel, we will definitely return. Recommended highly.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank GilesEC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I think that the quality of the place you stay has a lot to do with your first impressions of a city and, for me, this quaint little place was a perfect introduction to the city of Amsterdam. We stayed in a canal view room, which was beautifully clean and elegantly decorated. It was lovely to wake up to a view of the wintry canal and see the locals whizzing by on their bikes. The bathroom is well appointed with a very deep bath - perfect for a long soak after being out on the cold streets all day. The staff here are very friendly and will do anything to make your stay pleasant - the manager even offered us glasses on wine on our last night. And when we woke up after a long jet-lagged nap at 11.30pm on our first night (without having had dinner!), an Aussie staff member (forgotten his name) offered us a plate of pastries and croissants that he'd been taking home for himself.

I've stayed in a lot of five-star hotels around the world, and in many ways this adorable little boutique hotel trumps many of them in terms of service, breakfasts (delicious!) and interior design. Oh and if you like super soft beds, you'll find the beds here a dream.

Room Tip: If you can afford to pay a little extra, go for the canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Green_Peas4breakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Amsterdam can be an expensive city,but here it is worth every euro.
In this converted merchants house, The rooms are exceptionally clean and well equipped.Including free Nesperesso coffee and Tea.
There is a I phone dock station in the room quality TV and the free WiFi that works!! with a fast and efficient connection.
The staff are exceptional being friendly and very helpful, where nothing seems to be too much of a problem.
As for the breakfast, this is quite simply the best quality continental breakfast spread I have seen in a long time.
They have set the standard here and I feel sure they will maintain it.

Room Tip: There are very steep stairs so keep luggage to a minimum, or request a room on the ground floor. we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FirmfriendsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Pleasantly surprised by this lovely boutique hotel. From check in, breakfast to check out, staff were friendly & helpful. The hotel is a good 30 min walk from the central station but well worth the time to really appreciate Amsterdam, the canals & architecture. Breakfast was good with small selection of cheeses, smoked salmon, ham, fruit & juices. Rooms were nicely furnished with pretty comfy beds. A place we would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosiepoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#55 of 372 in Amsterdam
876 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,223 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#75 of 372 in Amsterdam
990 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#44 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amsterdam Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amsterdam Canal Hotel

Address: Weteringschans 253, 1017 XJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $208 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Amsterdam Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel reinvents the urban hotel for the people who look for a quality visit in exciting Amsterdam. We crave experience more than hospitality clichés. We are curious about the historic buildings we inhabit and let them guide us to someplace both warm, fresh and authentic. We appeal to a broad spectrum of urban travelers, without reducing everything to the lowest common denominator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HRS, Hotel.de, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Amsterdam Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing