We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel - walking distance to almost everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Amsterdam Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Ranked #89 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel - walking distance to almost everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Pleasantly surprised by this lovely boutique hotel. From check in, breakfast to check out, staff were friendly & helpful. The hotel is a good 30 min walk from the central station but well worth the time to really appreciate Amsterdam, the canals & architecture. Breakfast was good with small selection of cheeses, smoked salmon, ham, fruit & juices. Rooms were nicely furnished with pretty comfy beds. A place we would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiepoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    99
    29
    10
    8
See reviews for
35
178
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous place, very clean, good location, with a very nice breakfast and a awesome staff. Simply the best receptionists.
We liked everything! The bedrooms were very nicely decorated, the breakfast was great and, most of all, the staff was very kind and helpfull (one special word of apreciation to the recepcionist (Sasksa??), 'cause she really did everything to make our stay a special one. It is a bit far from the center, but the public transportation is good, so it's not a problem. If you want to be in the museum area, than it's perfect.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vpestana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at the Amsterdam Canal Hotel for Christmas week (2013.) It was a pleasure. Right after I booked the room, I received an email from the hotel asking me if I had any requests, concerns, or questions about Amsterdam, along with directions on how to reach the hotel! The staff was so wonderful-- they went over and beyond for us throughout the week, and never hesitated to help us. We checked in way early the first day and unfortunately our room was not available but the staff gave us a map, and information took our luggage and got us all checked in When we returned, they had already moved our luggage into our rooms and had everything prepared for us, all we did was pay and we walked into our room. We greatly appreciated the service and the smiles in the mornings during breakfast too! Speaking of breakfast, best EVER since we have been to Europe. It was a nice spread of scrambled eggs, cereal, pastries, cold meats, cheese, fruit, coffee, and fresh juices. The hotel is decorated very chic and stylish, and had a personality-- but not in a gaudy overbearing kind of way that you would find in other places. We stayed in room number 11-- the blue room (and YES the pictures REALLY do look like the rooms) and did not hear too much noise, occasionally we could hear our next door neighbors coming into there rooms, but other then that, there was nothing that would impede our stay there again. The beds in the hotel were very comfortable, and we had a great nights (albeit late) sleep each day!! The minibar is free with water and soda, and we greatly appreciated that after the late nights coming in from dinner, and drinks out on the town. Great location too, right near a tram stop that runs through the main portions of town, and not a bad location to visit the Rijksmuseum which is a few blocks away. About a 10 minute tram ride (take the #4) straight down the road and you are a few blocks over from the hotel-- very easy to find, if coming from the train station- on #4 make a right. 15-20 minute walk from the main squares and shopping and red light district. All and all, the hotel was absolutely wonderful, the staff was top notch, and we look forward to seeing you guys again this spring for the Tulip festival!! Thank you for the wonderful time!

Room Tip: Beware of the steep stairs, if you are out of shape, or have any injuries it could be a little rough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The staff there had the best service I've ever had in any city, especially Ervin, he was more than helpful. Me and my girlfriend loved the breakfast in the mornings and the free mini bar was great. The internet was super fast and the jacuzzi tub was a welcoming surprise. At first I thought the room was a bit small but after 5 minutes I got used to it and it was extremely cozy and nice. Though it isn't in the center of the city, everything was accessible with tram stations right outside the hotel or a quick 5-10 minute walk in any direction to restaurants, bars, or shops. To compliment the staff again, they were extremely helpful by recommending us where to go and what to do around the city. I would definitely recommend people to stay at this hotel and we'll be sure to come back to this hotel the next time we're in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: For the elderly or pregnant women, do not book a room higher than the 1st floor. The stairs are like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianalei49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel is in a good location and renovated with imagination so that the rooms are basic but smart and very comfortable. On the road side the trams kept us awake and you have to like stairs to reach the third floor but we changed to a more expensive room facing the canal, which was peaceful.That was until guests arrived during the night. We were told that improvements to noise insulation are about to happen. You can walk to most places of interest or take a choice of trams that run close by. A City pass is the best way to see lots of museums if you are so inclined, because entry is expensive to each one. The buffet breakfast downstairs was really good. All the staff were extremely pleasant.

Room Tip: Choose canal side rooms that are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 5 nights,the hotel was lovely the staff friendly and very helpful, You could hear street noise in the subterranean room but it wasn't excessive and the breakfast was wonderful. If we go back it Amsterdam we would definitely stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ange_sutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are immaculately clean, quirky and canal views, if you choose to pay the extra for them, are just great. Friendly service, delicious breakfasts and free minibar are the plus points. The location is also good, as you can walk to pretty much anywhere, and the immediate surrounding area is lovely, with good restaurants. The only low point is that the walls appear to be made from cardboard and the people in the next room sound like they are in YOUR room! I would still recommend this hotel, though!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCanal_Hotel, Manager at The Amsterdam Canal Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

On behalf of the complete we would like to thank you once again for staying with us during your visit in Amsterdam. It was a pleasure to welcoming you in our hotel.

Thank you for your suggestions, we strive to improve our product and services every day, and thanks to your review we can do!

We are looking forward to welcoming you in future again!

With kind regards,

J. Ligtvoet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#116 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#67 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#71 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#113 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amsterdam Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amsterdam Canal Hotel

Property: The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Address: Weteringschans 253, 1017 XJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Amsterdam Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel reinvents the urban hotel for the people who look for a quality visit in exciting Amsterdam. We crave experience more than hospitality clichés. We are curious about the historic buildings we inhabit and let them guide us to someplace both warm, fresh and authentic. We appeal to a broad spectrum of urban travelers, without reducing everything to the lowest common denominator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Amsterdam Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing