We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a delight!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Amsterdam Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Ranked #82 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Quite a delight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are immaculately clean, quirky and canal views, if you choose to pay the extra for them, are just great. Friendly service, delicious breakfasts and free minibar are the plus points. The location is also good, as you can walk to pretty much anywhere, and the immediate surrounding area is lovely, with good restaurants. The only low point is that the walls appear to be made from cardboard and the people in the next room sound like they are in YOUR room! I would still recommend this hotel, though!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCanal_Hotel, Manager at The Amsterdam Canal Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

On behalf of the complete we would like to thank you once again for staying with us during your visit in Amsterdam. It was a pleasure to welcoming you in our hotel.

Thank you for your suggestions, we strive to improve our product and services every day, and thanks to your review we can do!

We are looking forward to welcoming you in future again!

With kind regards,

J. Ligtvoet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    104
    29
    10
    8
See reviews for
35
186
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is relatively new (it only opened at the beginning of this year) so I had not come across it before on previous trips to Amsterdam, however it will be on my list as one to return to. The location is good (tram 25 from the station takes you straight there) and it is surrounded by lovely little streets which are quintessentially Amsterdam. The hotel is in it's infancy so there were a few wee wrinkles. We lost the power a couple of times and our room was quite narrow which meant we had to enter the bed from the bottom but despite this every thing was done with charm and staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and varied.

Altogether, a very pleasant stay and one definitely to be repeated.

Room Tip: Go for a canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank figlet3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCanal_Hotel, General Manager at The Amsterdam Canal Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor.

It was a great pleasure to host you in the Amsterdam Canal Hotel. On behalve of the complete we would like to thank you again for staying with us.

With your suggestions we can improve our product and our services. It's very important for us to get your feedback, thank you for this.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in future!
You can contact me directly to make your reservation.

All the best, with kind regards,

J. Ligtvoet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Modern,clean hotel in a good location. Staff were very friendly and always happy to help. Breakfast was good and there was plenty choice.
The rooms are small and i did miss a bed side table but other than that no problems.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: choose a canal view on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarabell067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCanal_Hotel, General Manager at The Amsterdam Canal Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review!
It was a pleasure to host you as one of our guest.

On behalf of the complete we would like to thank you again for your stay!

If you would like to return to our hotel, or need any help, please contact me directly.

With kind regards,

J. Ligtvoet
General Manager (gm@canal-hotel.nl)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We loved the location. The rooms were spotless. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was very nice. BUT the first room we stayed in had no place to put things, no night tables, no dresser, no shelf of any kind in the bathroom. Because we extended our stay at the last minute we had to move rooms. Although we paid a lot more for the second room with a canal view we could hear everything in the room next door which was very disconcerting! Storage space in this room was an issue as well.
If half the armoir was shelves, inexpensive night stands were put next to the beds and one or two shelves were put near the bathroom sink, it could be a really top notch hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Carole O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Roma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is in a good position in Amsterdam, not too far from Heineken. However the hotel suffers a number of essential drawbacks. The most relevant is the very very bad accessibility. A narrow stairway, with even narrower steps, leads the access to rooms really difficult, particularly if you must carry a luggage (of course, no lift available). Rooms are small and clean with a normal comfort (although, with such small rooms, noises from other rooms are present) .
Breakfast is honest and consumed in a small room (with bad accessibility to kitchen..).
May be is normal to conceive an hotel in a building like that (amsterdam has a peculiar house structure..). I do not think, however, that a building such that would have had the regular authorizations to host an hotel in another place. No emergency exits present and, with such a narrow stairway, in case of danger I would not like to be there...Price is also extremely high for all that: the fee of 200 euro/day is inconsistent with the level of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VittorioRosato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We found the Amsterdam Canal Hotel on the internet. We had a few days in the Netherlands prior to embarking on a cruise liner. It was a very good choice; fortunately we had a nearly ground floor room as I sprained my ankle an hour after checking in; the stairs are narrow and winding. The decor was nice, though there were no drawers, or bedside tables/lamps. It was a hot 3 days, and the management had nicely put in a portable AC. The breakfast room was super .. good food, and outdoor seating right on the canal. We used the outdoor space frequently throughout the day. The hotel location is excellent for walking, small restaurants, museums, and the tram. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We expected the street-facing room might be noisy, but it was not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelrangerSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is in a very convenient location for sightseeing Amsterdam. We had a very warm welcome, and the staff were incredibly nice and helpful.
Our room (24) had a lovely view of the canal, and was very stylish, managing to appear both contemporary with hints of traditional Dutch interiors. It was a bit of a climb, so it might be worth checking if this would present a problem. All was lovely and new and clean, with extremely comfortable bed and pillows. The wall partitioning the bathroom and the bedroom was made of glass, with some key areas of frosting. This made the bedroom seem bigger and the bathroom lovely and light, but it might be a bit disconcerting for some - we loved it!
The breakfast was really good, loads of good fresh food, with a massive amount of choice, in a very nice dining room.
All in all, they made the experience of being there totally relaxing, a really good hotel with a lot of attention to detail, to make everything work perfectly for their guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#66 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#135 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#109 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#75 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amsterdam Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amsterdam Canal Hotel

Property: The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Address: Weteringschans 253, 1017 XJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Amsterdam Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel reinvents the urban hotel for the people who look for a quality visit in exciting Amsterdam. We crave experience more than hospitality clichés. We are curious about the historic buildings we inhabit and let them guide us to someplace both warm, fresh and authentic. We appeal to a broad spectrum of urban travelers, without reducing everything to the lowest common denominator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Amsterdam Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing