We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Heartwarming and Cozy (Gezellig!!)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Biercafe Gollem

Biercafe Gollem
Ranked #13 of 3,558 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Centrum
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heartwarming and Cozy (Gezellig!!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Maybe at first it seems as a funny header, but it is indeed the case. Having crazy number of beers is not very rare in the Netherlands thanks to its own beer culture and its proximity to Belgium, the so-called beer heaven. So what makes this bar exceptional in my regard is its coziness, the people in it. I have been there twice and each time met new people and had very nicel conversations. Today, I wanted go there in the afternoon but then said well maybe I shouldn't dispel its cult, maybe this time I won't meet a new one. But Gollem disproved me once again, I met a nice dutch guy at the bar again and he engaged in conversation, I wasn't looking around the talk to sb. So whenever I feel distressed or lonely, my destination is quite certain if I am in Amsterdam. And on top of that, the wide selection of beers yeahh, also ask the bartender he is quite good at guessing what you need.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank compileandrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    87
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“THIS WAS MY FAVOURITE PLACE OF AMSTERDAM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

find nh city centre hotel it is on the next alley on from there. this place is delightful and homely and 200 selection of beer absolutely delightful delicious beer . i wanted to come here every single day. you are made to feel very welcoming and cosy and i wish there was places like this in my home nation

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PDAWG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing beer selection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The location is VERY difficult to find. But, if you can locate the Amsterdam Museum, you are very close. The bar is very small, but quite authentic and comfy. The selection of beer is incomparable!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel5182011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beer heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

A little gem. Amazing atmosphere, amazing selection of beers, great service. Check out the Gollem Blonde. Lovely! - That's a beer by the way! I could have stayed for hours. Unfortunately, I don't think my legs would co-operate after several beverages!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheesybeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fantastic range of beers, great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This place is a real find. The range of beers is simply amazing! 14 draught beers and over 200 bottles. The guy serving was a mind of information, happy to give out tasters of the beers and very happy to talk you through the range.
Even the "weak" beers are about 6%abv so don't expect to be able to try too many!! They do offer a €10 tasting selection too which is a great idea.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christhewino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biercafe Gollem also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Biercafe Gollem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing