We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel V Nesplein
Ranked #15 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stared three nights in June for the annual Amsterdam Open Gardens weekend. We selected this hotel based on its proximity to the 30+ gardens that open for the weekend, its TA reviews and its price. It turned out to be an excellent choice - very spacious, clean room with ensuite, friendly staff on reception and in the restaurant and surprisingly quiet considering that we were so close to Dam Square. The standard of the food in the restaurant was high, and breakfast was excellent. I really didn't want to leave and now can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jilliebee_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    211
    41
    3
    2
See reviews for
124
453
28
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I booked this hotel as it had food reviews on TA. We stayed 4 nights in a basic room but it had everything we needed for our stay. We were greeted by a lovely chap on reception who couldn't have been more helpful. We had a problem with our coffee machine which was fixed straight away. The hotel was clean, the room was small but big enough for our needs, the bed was really comfy and the hotel was very quiet. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel (Amsterdam has loads of lovely coffee shops for a cheaper breakfast) but we had one very good evening meal. The hotel was also very central and we more or less walkied everywhere. i think it was a brisk 15 minute walk from Central station

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great location: the quiet of a side street/the accessibility of a 90-second walk to and through Dam Square. Charming, cool vibe. Lovely, helpful staff. Very nice restaurant for coffee or dinner. Huge room, style and character, with window that actually opens. But, one caveat -
if you're sensitive to noise, the door from hallway into room area is very loud, woke us up repeatedly. perhaps best to ask for room farthest from entrance to elevator/steps hallway. otherwise love it.

Room Tip: as suggested: consider rooms farthest from door/entrance from elevator and stairway. the closing doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldreveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very friendly hotel with great front desk staff and good location to explore Amsterdam from a quiet side street location. Not the cheapest but still pretty good value. Only personal downside was I in a room with 2 single beds pushed close together but not all rooms like this.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is definitely a great place to stay in Amsterdam.

- Great designs throughout the hotel. Some of the rooms can be small, but room 305 was very spacious.
- Comfy bed, nice and strong shower.
- Everyone was clean and kept neat and new.
- Staff were wonderfully friendly.
- Restaurant served great food throughout the day with terraces in the back. Every latte is served with great care.
- Restaurant staff remembers your preferences.
- Celebrity spotting (Well, Dutch celebrity then)
- Best location you can get.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vonneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Small boutique hotel in the center of Amsterdam, stayed in for six nights.
The hotel is very quiet and adequately equipped. The room was very clean and the room service did not disturb the stay.
The hotel is located in a inner street so it is very quiet throughout the day.
Only three minutes walk to the Dam square.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadoo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Having visited Amsterdam on a number of occasions this has been by far the best hotel I have had the pleasure in staying at.

The staff are very friendly, the food was great and the room decor and finish was immaculate. The beds were so comfy, we slept very well.

The location is perfect, in a quiet road just off Dam Square about 10 minutes walk from Central Station.

When we return to Amsterdam again, we will definitely be staying here!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank M_Cunningham-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,317 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,191 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Property: Hotel V Nesplein
Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel V Nesplein 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing