We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lots to commend it but .....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel V Nesplein
Ranked #13 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lots to commend it but .....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Not my taste. Firstly though the staff are very friendly and efficient in both the hotel and the restaurant. The room we had (comfort) was clean certainly and had good amenities such as bath robe and tassimo coffee maker. Drinking water supplied daily is great. However the decor is gloomy and uninspiring in the room and very very dark in the corridor. Meant to be atmospheric no doubt. The design of the tea and coffee station in particular is poor and I scalded myself because the power point for the kettle is too far from the desk. The mirrors in the bathroom are very high. I am very short I know and the Dutch are tall but even so . I hadn't noticed there is no air con. On the positive the restaurant was busy but service and food were good the night we used it. The location is really great.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzie6474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    204
    37
    3
    2
See reviews for
115
440
28
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Great location. 10 minutes walk from amsterdam central train station. Modern stylish hotel, extremely clean, and comfortable if sparse in style, storage and decor in the rooms but it seems to work. Great bathroom and shower.

Well worth booking the breakfast deal on line as part of the deal as the food is excellent.

The lobby restaurant is the only public space so if you need a quiet place for work etc outside your room it can be difficult at busy times. Wifi however is free and works everywhere in the hotel with no issue

Only niggle is service in the lobby restaurant is a bit hit and miss. Mind you this lackadaisical service is amsterdam wide perhaps because tipping is uncommon. So it's not hotel V specific

Lots of good restaurants within 2 minutes walk. The beer and chicken restaurant 1minute south of the hotel was great.

Overall a great choice if you like casual, busy, younger clientele ( in outlook ) non chain quirky hotels with no stuffiness.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi there! Thank you for your review! It is great to hear that you had a nice stay, and sorry that you found the service of The Lobby restaurant at times lacking. The restaurant has become very popular and they are doing their best to keep up with the demand. I will let them know your feedback. :)
Til next time!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is the third time I've stayed here on business and I still cannot fault it. The only downside is that the restaurant is now so popular that you have to book it in advance! To be fair they did manage to squeeze us in without a booking and it is still delicious. Stay here, it's great!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vedev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
So happy that you are having a nice time on your visits to Hotel v Nesplein! Next time you make a reservation for a room, let us know if you want to book a table at The Lobby too, and we will do our best to snag you a table in advance! The Lobby is very popular, which is nice, but we also want our hotel guests to experience it as well as Amsterdammers!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Hotel V was recommended to me by a colleague and I would recommend it to others too. The staff is very nice and helpful and the location is perfect.

The decor feels to be right from Restoration Hardware. The rooms are relatively spacious and well appointed. There are a lot of nice small details. Super comfortable bath robes too!

Definitely eat at the restaurant at Hotel V. It is great and frequented by locals. During the day you can use the cozy corner of the restaurant to work or just lounge on the couches, which is nice.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank aknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We ate here .. This was a laid back restaurant. Great food and a great design. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They even recommended places to go afterwards. Overall excellent - would like to stay here next time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KatieH535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hello! Thank you for the review of the restaurant, but The Lobby Bar & Restaurant has its own tripadvisor profile. This is just for the hotel & rooms....
But we do hope that you stay with us some time!
Until then...
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

What's special about Hotel V is that each and every member of staff make you feel as though you're a guest in their own home. This is delivered through attentive, thoughtful, enthusiastic and friendly service from every single employee. Add to that great design, location and restaurant and Hotel V makes an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_D_Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
What a lovely thing to write! Thank you so much for the nice review, everyone will be pleased to hear this one, as this is precisely how we want our guests to feel.
All the best!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Had an enjoyable stay here over the weekend and found the hotel and staff to be top notch! Very close to the heart of Amsterdam, will recommend to friends! Food was excellent in restaurant and there was a good selection of rum which was an added bonus for me...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks for the stay, and lovely that you loved the rum! : )
Come back again and try ALL of them!!!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,244 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,232 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#14 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Property: Hotel V Nesplein
Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel V Nesplein 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing