We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The In Crowd!”
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel V Nesplein
Ranked #21 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Wow! Wish I was 20 something, not 60 something. This place is hip. It has been 10 years since I was last in Amsterdam and decided to spend 4 days there to visit art galleries, especially the new Riijksmuseum that has been under renovation for 10 years. Don't know what I was more impressed with - the Hotel V or the fabulous reno by Architects Antonio Cruz and Antonio Ortiz from Sevilla of the Rijksmuseum.
Hotel V's location is superb for shopping and eating, and there is no shortage of night-life. The trolley car is right there to get one to Museumplein where 3 of the top Art Galleries are. The rooms are very modern with good bathrooms. The restaurant is excellent. They have a very substantial breakfast, their lunch was good (try the flamkuchen) and we had an exceptional dinner there on our last night. The staff was very helpful with directions, suggestions, reservations and any information that was needed.
All in all a greet experience. Yes, I will be back and this time not wait 10 years!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Nesplein! So happy to hear that you had a great stay, and that we impressed you as much as the Rijksmuseum! What a compliment!
So see you again one day soon....very soon!

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,030)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 660 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

A jewel of a find. Perfect location just off Dam Square, great ambience, super food, well appointed, spacious room, decor superb. And service second to none. The staff are wonderful - friendly, relaxed, helpful, and nothing too much trouble. Everything was great. Thank you for making my first trip to Amsterdam such a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: 112 has a wound fully positioned mirror ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyjmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent 3 night in this hotel and were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. I would say our room was functional, modern and very clean. We had everything we needed. We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant which had a very nice atmosphere and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. If you don't want to eat in there are plenty of restaurants and cafes in the area. I did ask for a room on the quiet side which we had and can't say we heard a sound. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quiet side if you don't want to hear the noise from the street but this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skymot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hotel V is very close to the Old Square and easy to get anywhere from this location. The staff at the desk and restaurant and bar were all superbly kind and helpful. Our room was fine, the bathroom was nice, modern and clean. We traveled with another couple and their room was much bigger than ours, so if size matters, room 102 is much larger than 111.

Room Tip: Room 102 was quieter for sleeping than 111 as well as larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very good location. Clean, beautiful, very chic and cool.
Friendly staff and great service.
The restaurant had a nice selection of meals.
It is tastefully designed. All the staff wears jeans shirts as a uniform- very cool. Around the hotel there are many restaurants and cafe's.

Room Tip: All rooms are cool I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lina8705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

One of the best thing about the Hotel V Nesplein is the wonderful staff. They are eager to help and never seemed to resent any of our many questions. Before our trip, we sent numerous emails with questions about the hotel and getting there, and they responded with the information within a day, sometimes within hours. We were exhausted after the overnight flight, arriving around 7:00 am. They greeted us cheerfully, stored our bags, and managed to get us into our room by 9:30 am.

Whenever we had questions about stores, trams, or whatever, they cheerfully answered, or called the stores for us.

The restaurant (The Lobby) was very good, with a lovely ambiance, and staff very friendly. Food was excellent. We ate there for several breakfasts, and two dinners. One night, our waiter brought us samples of two Zuidam genever “gins” to sample, and then told us where we could buy a bottle in Amsterdam (which we later did). We wanted side salads, which were not on the menu, but they provided some for us. They automatically provide bottles of tap water, which was since I tend to be very thirsty.

Everyone spoke fluent English, and did not seem to mind doing so, which made it a lot easier for us. (I would rather I spoke some Dutch, but I had not had time to prepare.)

The location was close to the Dam and most tram lines, yes was on a back street and quiet.

Our room was spacious and very clean. The bathroom was also spacious and clean, with shower and tub. Although there were no dressers for storage, there was plenty of shelf space, and a place to hang clothes. The only thing we found wanting was the beds: small by American standards. We had asked for two beds, and they were single beds. Being used to double beds at American hotels and larger beds at home, we found it very difficult to sleep in such narrow beds. (The room was very large, so there was room for larger beds.)

Overall, though, we enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel is located in the Nes which is only 2 minutes walk to Dam Square. We asked for a quiet room and was accommodated in a room facing court yard and sound proof was great. The breakfast at hotel is also very tasty and the service in restaurant is top notch. However, the temperature could not be adjusted in the room as it was all central air condition. A mini fridge in the room would also be a nice addition.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppies99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,657 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 373 in Amsterdam
363 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $178 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel V Nesplein 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing