We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel V Nesplein
Ranked #18 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very good location. Clean, beautiful, very chic and cool.
Friendly staff and great service.
The restaurant had a nice selection of meals.
It is tastefully designed. All the staff wears jeans shirts as a uniform- very cool. Around the hotel there are many restaurants and cafe's.

Room Tip: All rooms are cool I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lina8705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,038)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

One of the best thing about the Hotel V Nesplein is the wonderful staff. They are eager to help and never seemed to resent any of our many questions. Before our trip, we sent numerous emails with questions about the hotel and getting there, and they responded with the information within a day, sometimes within hours. We were exhausted after the overnight flight, arriving around 7:00 am. They greeted us cheerfully, stored our bags, and managed to get us into our room by 9:30 am.

Whenever we had questions about stores, trams, or whatever, they cheerfully answered, or called the stores for us.

The restaurant (The Lobby) was very good, with a lovely ambiance, and staff very friendly. Food was excellent. We ate there for several breakfasts, and two dinners. One night, our waiter brought us samples of two Zuidam genever “gins” to sample, and then told us where we could buy a bottle in Amsterdam (which we later did). We wanted side salads, which were not on the menu, but they provided some for us. They automatically provide bottles of tap water, which was since I tend to be very thirsty.

Everyone spoke fluent English, and did not seem to mind doing so, which made it a lot easier for us. (I would rather I spoke some Dutch, but I had not had time to prepare.)

The location was close to the Dam and most tram lines, yes was on a back street and quiet.

Our room was spacious and very clean. The bathroom was also spacious and clean, with shower and tub. Although there were no dressers for storage, there was plenty of shelf space, and a place to hang clothes. The only thing we found wanting was the beds: small by American standards. We had asked for two beds, and they were single beds. Being used to double beds at American hotels and larger beds at home, we found it very difficult to sleep in such narrow beds. (The room was very large, so there was room for larger beds.)

Overall, though, we enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel is located in the Nes which is only 2 minutes walk to Dam Square. We asked for a quiet room and was accommodated in a room facing court yard and sound proof was great. The breakfast at hotel is also very tasty and the service in restaurant is top notch. However, the temperature could not be adjusted in the room as it was all central air condition. A mini fridge in the room would also be a nice addition.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppies99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is situated in a quiet area close to the dam. Fantastic rooms but the decor is quite dark. The reception staff were excellent and the service in the restaurant was good as well. A good stay and well worth looking at if going to Amsterdam

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDUTTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by Hotel V. Good place for comfortable journey. Especially for besotted couples. Big, modern rooms with all needed for good relaxation. Location is good. It was quiet. I likes hotel breakfast and lunch because quality and price were very good. Hotel isn't chip but very hospitable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This boutique hotel is centrally located on a quiet side street, with a fabulous restaurant attached to it. The decor of the rooms is very creative, unusual in a good, tasteful way, without being fussy, and also very spacious. Bathrooms are also spacious with a nice shower. All of the reception/concierge staff were very pleasant and helpful, and really helped to make the stay in Amsterdam at Hotel V a very pleasant, memorable experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherylN625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We really enjoyed Hotel V. I love an eclectic design, and this hotel delivers. It's big on personality and uses its space very functionally. The open "closet" looks like it won't hold all of your things but we had no problem fitting everything into the space. The staff were very polite and helpful, and the restaurant was really lovely, especially with the candles lit in the evening. We did not dine in the Lobby restaurant but we had a few beers and enjoyed the surroundings. I would most definitely stay again at Hotel V.
We were on the 2nd floor in a standard room that looked into the office building next to us. The view didn't really bother. I couldn't tell how tinted the windows were so I went ahead and closed the curtains while changing just in case the office workers didn't want to see anything obscene while eating their lunch. We could see the alley below and it was very charming, especially as a snap-shot of Amsterdam both during the day and nightlife.
I would recommend this to anyone traveling here I think it's a great location, we walked everywhere and didn't feel like we missed a thing!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StellaCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,353 reviews
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#9 of 375 in Amsterdam
499 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,219 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,702 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#21 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $153 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel V Nesplein 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing