We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel V Nesplein
Ranked #20 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very good location. Clean, beautiful, very chic and cool.
Friendly staff and great service.
The restaurant had a nice selection of meals.
It is tastefully designed. All the staff wears jeans shirts as a uniform- very cool. Around the hotel there are many restaurants and cafe's.

Room Tip: All rooms are cool I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina8705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    233
    44
    3
    2
See reviews for
135
497
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

One of the best thing about the Hotel V Nesplein is the wonderful staff. They are eager to help and never seemed to resent any of our many questions. Before our trip, we sent numerous emails with questions about the hotel and getting there, and they responded with the information within a day, sometimes within hours. We were exhausted after the overnight flight, arriving around 7:00 am. They greeted us cheerfully, stored our bags, and managed to get us into our room by 9:30 am.

Whenever we had questions about stores, trams, or whatever, they cheerfully answered, or called the stores for us.

The restaurant (The Lobby) was very good, with a lovely ambiance, and staff very friendly. Food was excellent. We ate there for several breakfasts, and two dinners. One night, our waiter brought us samples of two Zuidam genever “gins” to sample, and then told us where we could buy a bottle in Amsterdam (which we later did). We wanted side salads, which were not on the menu, but they provided some for us. They automatically provide bottles of tap water, which was since I tend to be very thirsty.

Everyone spoke fluent English, and did not seem to mind doing so, which made it a lot easier for us. (I would rather I spoke some Dutch, but I had not had time to prepare.)

The location was close to the Dam and most tram lines, yes was on a back street and quiet.

Our room was spacious and very clean. The bathroom was also spacious and clean, with shower and tub. Although there were no dressers for storage, there was plenty of shelf space, and a place to hang clothes. The only thing we found wanting was the beds: small by American standards. We had asked for two beds, and they were single beds. Being used to double beds at American hotels and larger beds at home, we found it very difficult to sleep in such narrow beds. (The room was very large, so there was room for larger beds.)

Overall, though, we enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel is located in the Nes which is only 2 minutes walk to Dam Square. We asked for a quiet room and was accommodated in a room facing court yard and sound proof was great. The breakfast at hotel is also very tasty and the service in restaurant is top notch. However, the temperature could not be adjusted in the room as it was all central air condition. A mini fridge in the room would also be a nice addition.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppies99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is situated in a quiet area close to the dam. Fantastic rooms but the decor is quite dark. The reception staff were excellent and the service in the restaurant was good as well. A good stay and well worth looking at if going to Amsterdam

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDUTTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by Hotel V. Good place for comfortable journey. Especially for besotted couples. Big, modern rooms with all needed for good relaxation. Location is good. It was quiet. I likes hotel breakfast and lunch because quality and price were very good. Hotel isn't chip but very hospitable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This boutique hotel is centrally located on a quiet side street, with a fabulous restaurant attached to it. The decor of the rooms is very creative, unusual in a good, tasteful way, without being fussy, and also very spacious. Bathrooms are also spacious with a nice shower. All of the reception/concierge staff were very pleasant and helpful, and really helped to make the stay in Amsterdam at Hotel V a very pleasant, memorable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylN625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We really enjoyed Hotel V. I love an eclectic design, and this hotel delivers. It's big on personality and uses its space very functionally. The open "closet" looks like it won't hold all of your things but we had no problem fitting everything into the space. The staff were very polite and helpful, and the restaurant was really lovely, especially with the candles lit in the evening. We did not dine in the Lobby restaurant but we had a few beers and enjoyed the surroundings. I would most definitely stay again at Hotel V.
We were on the 2nd floor in a standard room that looked into the office building next to us. The view didn't really bother. I couldn't tell how tinted the windows were so I went ahead and closed the curtains while changing just in case the office workers didn't want to see anything obscene while eating their lunch. We could see the alley below and it was very charming, especially as a snap-shot of Amsterdam both during the day and nightlife.
I would recommend this to anyone traveling here I think it's a great location, we walked everywhere and didn't feel like we missed a thing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,729 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#48 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Property: Hotel V Nesplein
Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel V Nesplein 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing