We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Convenient hotel with great character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel V Nesplein
Ranked #13 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel with great character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is situated in a quiet area close to the dam. Fantastic rooms but the decor is quite dark. The reception staff were excellent and the service in the restaurant was good as well. A good stay and well worth looking at if going to Amsterdam

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDUTTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    204
    37
    3
    2
See reviews for
115
440
28
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by Hotel V. Good place for comfortable journey. Especially for besotted couples. Big, modern rooms with all needed for good relaxation. Location is good. It was quiet. I likes hotel breakfast and lunch because quality and price were very good. Hotel isn't chip but very hospitable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This boutique hotel is centrally located on a quiet side street, with a fabulous restaurant attached to it. The decor of the rooms is very creative, unusual in a good, tasteful way, without being fussy, and also very spacious. Bathrooms are also spacious with a nice shower. All of the reception/concierge staff were very pleasant and helpful, and really helped to make the stay in Amsterdam at Hotel V a very pleasant, memorable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylN625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We really enjoyed Hotel V. I love an eclectic design, and this hotel delivers. It's big on personality and uses its space very functionally. The open "closet" looks like it won't hold all of your things but we had no problem fitting everything into the space. The staff were very polite and helpful, and the restaurant was really lovely, especially with the candles lit in the evening. We did not dine in the Lobby restaurant but we had a few beers and enjoyed the surroundings. I would most definitely stay again at Hotel V.
We were on the 2nd floor in a standard room that looked into the office building next to us. The view didn't really bother. I couldn't tell how tinted the windows were so I went ahead and closed the curtains while changing just in case the office workers didn't want to see anything obscene while eating their lunch. We could see the alley below and it was very charming, especially as a snap-shot of Amsterdam both during the day and nightlife.
I would recommend this to anyone traveling here I think it's a great location, we walked everywhere and didn't feel like we missed a thing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We chose Hotel V on the basis of the Trip Advisor reviews and the fact that it was a short walk to the Sofitel Grand Amsterdam, where we were to link up with friends prior to departing on a river cruise. On the morning of departure, we easily wheeled our luggage over to the Sofitel.

On arrival from Amsterdam Central station the taxi driver dropped us off at the entrance to narrow Nes Street close to Dam Square, explaining that it would be a short walk to Hotel V and he was right. In fact one of the best things about it is the location on a picturesque, quiet "alleyway" free from vehicles but yet right in the center of town. In fact we walked twice to the Red Light District without realizing it.

The staff were extremely nice to us and the rooms and bed very comfortable. The free WiFi worked well. Being from hot Florida, we appreciated the quiet and cool AC. The decor was somewhat quirky "industrial" modern and the hallways painted chocolate brown with a dark carpet, but the room itself was more neutral in tone. There is a good elevator so we didn't have to lug suitcases up the stairs.

The bathroom was nice. The only drawback was water from the shower would flood the bathroom floor with each use. There was no barrier under the glass enclosure to contain the water. We pointed that out to the desk at the end of the stay and hopefully they will find a way to correct it, since this is a newer property.

We didn't eat there so can't comment on the food, but the dining area looked inviting inside and out. The bar graciously provided us with ice each day. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor on Nes St. and faced an office bldg. There were no issues with nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CARLA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Hotel V has quality comfortable beds and bedding with no carpeting in the room which works for allergy prone people. The room and bathroom were clean with funky furnishings and better quality toiletries. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room had a view of rooftops and a window that opened. The location of the mirrors in the room are for looks and not so much for function as they are placed too high for not tall people. After the conversion to Canadian dollars the cost for non Europeans was a little higher than average however you are guaranteed a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Excellent restaurant, friendly staff, and superb pizzas&breakfast! The terrace, in alittle squere, is a pleasure place to stay.
The room was very good, large and confortable, although the air con was too cold sometimes.
Perfect location, near Dam and in a lively street with lots of brasseries and cafés.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mantonia57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,242 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,232 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#14 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Property: Hotel V Nesplein
Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel V Nesplein 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing