We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“I was pleasantly surprised by Hotel V.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel V Nesplein
Ranked #18 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“I was pleasantly surprised by Hotel V.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by Hotel V. Good place for comfortable journey. Especially for besotted couples. Big, modern rooms with all needed for good relaxation. Location is good. It was quiet. I likes hotel breakfast and lunch because quality and price were very good. Hotel isn't chip but very hospitable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    221
    42
    3
    2
See reviews for
128
472
30
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This boutique hotel is centrally located on a quiet side street, with a fabulous restaurant attached to it. The decor of the rooms is very creative, unusual in a good, tasteful way, without being fussy, and also very spacious. Bathrooms are also spacious with a nice shower. All of the reception/concierge staff were very pleasant and helpful, and really helped to make the stay in Amsterdam at Hotel V a very pleasant, memorable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylN625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We really enjoyed Hotel V. I love an eclectic design, and this hotel delivers. It's big on personality and uses its space very functionally. The open "closet" looks like it won't hold all of your things but we had no problem fitting everything into the space. The staff were very polite and helpful, and the restaurant was really lovely, especially with the candles lit in the evening. We did not dine in the Lobby restaurant but we had a few beers and enjoyed the surroundings. I would most definitely stay again at Hotel V.
We were on the 2nd floor in a standard room that looked into the office building next to us. The view didn't really bother. I couldn't tell how tinted the windows were so I went ahead and closed the curtains while changing just in case the office workers didn't want to see anything obscene while eating their lunch. We could see the alley below and it was very charming, especially as a snap-shot of Amsterdam both during the day and nightlife.
I would recommend this to anyone traveling here I think it's a great location, we walked everywhere and didn't feel like we missed a thing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We chose Hotel V on the basis of the Trip Advisor reviews and the fact that it was a short walk to the Sofitel Grand Amsterdam, where we were to link up with friends prior to departing on a river cruise. On the morning of departure, we easily wheeled our luggage over to the Sofitel.

On arrival from Amsterdam Central station the taxi driver dropped us off at the entrance to narrow Nes Street close to Dam Square, explaining that it would be a short walk to Hotel V and he was right. In fact one of the best things about it is the location on a picturesque, quiet "alleyway" free from vehicles but yet right in the center of town. In fact we walked twice to the Red Light District without realizing it.

The staff were extremely nice to us and the rooms and bed very comfortable. The free WiFi worked well. Being from hot Florida, we appreciated the quiet and cool AC. The decor was somewhat quirky "industrial" modern and the hallways painted chocolate brown with a dark carpet, but the room itself was more neutral in tone. There is a good elevator so we didn't have to lug suitcases up the stairs.

The bathroom was nice. The only drawback was water from the shower would flood the bathroom floor with each use. There was no barrier under the glass enclosure to contain the water. We pointed that out to the desk at the end of the stay and hopefully they will find a way to correct it, since this is a newer property.

We didn't eat there so can't comment on the food, but the dining area looked inviting inside and out. The bar graciously provided us with ice each day. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor on Nes St. and faced an office bldg. There were no issues with nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CARLA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Hotel V has quality comfortable beds and bedding with no carpeting in the room which works for allergy prone people. The room and bathroom were clean with funky furnishings and better quality toiletries. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room had a view of rooftops and a window that opened. The location of the mirrors in the room are for looks and not so much for function as they are placed too high for not tall people. After the conversion to Canadian dollars the cost for non Europeans was a little higher than average however you are guaranteed a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Excellent restaurant, friendly staff, and superb pizzas&breakfast! The terrace, in alittle squere, is a pleasure place to stay.
The room was very good, large and confortable, although the air con was too cold sometimes.
Perfect location, near Dam and in a lively street with lots of brasseries and cafés.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mantonia57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very very beautiful hotel…is located in a perfect location near Dam e near Damstraat, 5 minutes to the central station, and in a quiet place…very comfortable hotel with a crew helpful and friendly….very good and very nice the Lobby, the restaurant bar with a very good breakfast. I hope to return one day in this hotel to visit again the Wonderful Amsterdam and its wonderful lifestyle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emanuelem81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,584 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Property: Hotel V Nesplein
Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel V Nesplein 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing