We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great design and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel V Nesplein
Ranked #13 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great design and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I choose this hotel, like many others, thanks to Trip Advisor reviews. Our hotel room was great and I would be happy to return. I'd give the design a five-star review, but some service and sound issues make it a four-star review from me. The hotel's urban chic, minimalist style is very well done, both aesthetically and functionally. The bed and linens were very comfortable, the bathtub my all-time favorite and all the other aspects of our room were pleasing. There was only one window, so the room was a bit dark, but the view out was onto a sweet wall garden and the window opened, another plus. I had asked for a quiet room and the hotel kindly sorted that out for us. our room generally was very quiet with the exception of being awakened our first night around 3 am by a nearby couple talking. This went on for a couple of hours and I wasn't able to determine if it was due to too little sound-proofing between the walls or because we had opened our window for fresh air. In any case, I really enjoyed our room, which also had plenty of space. Service at the hotel restaurant, where we had dinner one night, was great, but the food was very average unfortunately. I won't be in a hurry to eat there again. Reception staff are nice, but for a four-star hotel could improve on some service points. One suggestion is to get a phone system that allows you to place guests on hold rather than answering the phone with a "just a second", placing the phone down on the counter and then keeping the guest waiting for five minutes. And have more than one person attending to reception. All in all a good stay and I really liked this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Nesplein! It's nice to hear that you enjoyed the room, and regarding The Lobby food, I would like to point out that the menu changes almost seasonally, so if you are ever around it would be lovely to have you back and see if anything new on the menu would entice you! The kitchen staff is always welcome to hearing feedback on the dishes!
And as for reception, you are correct- there is a better way to put someone on hold! So sorry about that. We will make sure that all staff follow protocol.


Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    204
    38
    3
    2
See reviews for
115
441
28
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ardgour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We didn't realise this was a brand-new hotel when we booked online - we just got a great deal, so to find that we'd also found possibly the perfect city centre hotel was one great big bonus. Fantastic public areas, quirky stylish design, and a location in a quiet street just two minutes from the main square coupled with really helpful, laid-back-but-totally-professional and friendly staff let us know as soon as we arrived that we'd landed on our feet. The rooms did not disappoint either! Cool decor, big shower with great water pressure, really comfortable beds - and decently sound-proofed big windows - win, win, win!

Congratulations on a great place and wishing the team all success in their first summer season.

Room Tip: We liked our room on a higher floor and looking onto the Nesplein.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aryhoulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Wow, what a sweet review! Thank you so much for leaving it.
What can we say- we are happy that you are happy!
Hope to see you back again soon!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel, staff were friendly and helpful, and the hotel and rooms were well fitted out and modern. The hotel interior designers have done a great job fitting it out. Location is excellent, not far from the action but on a quiet street. Wifi worked well and the rooms and bed was spacious. Free water was provided every day which was a nice touch.
Only minor negative, the rooms don't have a minibar fridge, which can be a little frustrating. Also the room is fairly dark but looks directly into the office across the street so it's hard to open up all the curtains and let some more light in.
Can't make any comments on the bar or restaurant but it was full both nights we were there so that was a good sign.
Make sure you write down the address because some taxi drivers didn't know of this hotel yet.
Overall, had a great stay here and would recommend it highly. Positives greatly outweighed any negatives.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavman81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review!
I will pass on your suggestion of a minibar fridge in the room to the management. Perhaps that is something that we can work on adding in the future.

Kind Regards, and hope to welcome you back soon!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This new hotel is perfectly located in the old town, in a quiet street lined with little independent theaters just off the busy Rokin. The palace on the Dam square is a mere two minute walk away; the central station 10 minutes. The staff at reception and restaurant is friendly. The interior is an eclectic mix of brownish retro-modern stuff; nice. I was upgraded to suite 202, a large and quiet corner room with lots of windows, large bathroom, retro furniture, a large Samsung tv with internet function, free wifi (fast enough), coffee machine. Nice bed. All very clean. Very good. Difficult to find the airco but I couldn't be bothered too much, it was quiet enough to open one of the many windows. The hotel has no buffet style but a menu breakfast, which was good and reasonably prices (though not cheap). I already liked the other Hotel V (avoid the cheapest basement rooms there) near Frederiksplein, but this is roomier and (even) better located.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nucool24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
"an eclectic mix of brownish retro-modern stuff"
That is exactly how I would describe it too!

Thanks for the review!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived home after a three night stay in Amsterdam.

We received a warm welcome at Reception and were offered lots of advise about the city.

Our room was very clean, modern and comfortable. Free wi-fi during our stay which was reliable and fast.

We did not eat in the restaurant as we never tend to do during our city breaks. However we did spend the end of one evening enjoying a night cap in the bar. We found the bar staff both friendly and attentive.

The hotel is located just off Dam Square. Very central and close to all the action but not a noisy location.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteB26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Nesplein!
Glad to hear you had a good time.
Hope we see you again!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights on this new hotel. We got our room even before the usual check in time because it was ready and after being awake almost 20 hours we could rest a little. Reception desk was extremely kind and helped us all along our stay with whatever we needed. Rooms are contemporary designed ,very comfortable with high end beds and bed linings. It sounds negligible but I found that there where some small comforts that make a difference such as a lot of outlets for charging our tablets and smartphones, and the highly reliable complimentary WI-Fi connection that never failed us. Breakfast was simply wonderful, such a vast choice of possibilities with excellent quality. We decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant, usually I prefer to go to an outer restaurant but we were very tired. Dinner at the hotel's restaurant was a nice surprise and we were so pleased with the quality of the food and service as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila_poli_peer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you so much for leaving a review! The entire staff will be pleased to hear that you had a great time, and I will let The Lobby know that you enjoyed your meals there.
See you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Love this hotel and the attentive staff. Its a good location for good food in the evening and the while city is walkable from Nes.
Funky rooms and nice restaurant make this place a little different from the usual hotel chains.
We had a problem with our TV and the waiter heard us at breakfast. He said he'd sort it and low and behold it was fixed. This is the sign of a well managed hotel where everyone makes a difference.

Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Glad to hear that you had a nice stay, and especially glad to hear that the waiter picked up on your TV problem. Indeed, that is what we strive for- the entire team working to make your stay better.
Thanks for the review!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,247 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,242 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#14 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Property: Hotel V Nesplein
Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel V Nesplein 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing