We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Lady

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Lady
Ranked #55 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I'm just back from a mon-fri in The Old Lady and I could'nt fault the place. The room was beautiful, lovely clean crisp linen sheets on the bed, very clean and great spacious bathroom all decorated to a lovely standard. Great location just 5mins walk from central station and right on a canal side. The owner Gijs is very welcoming and friendly and makes a lovely breakfast in the morning.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jintz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
42
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here late June and what a place! Exquisite decor, Gijs (owner) is a warm, welcoming host. We were welcomed with a complimentary bottle of fizz which was great after a long journey. Five minute walk to central station so great location. Rooms are exceptionally clean and tasteful. Double shower and sink in huge bathroom was ace. Comfy bed with built in TV. Yummy breakfast with the best pancakes and strawberries I've tasted! Overall wicked stay, definitely visiting again if back in Amsterdam :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanniewalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Took the ground floor appartment and why stay anywhere else. Handy location to the old city, railway station and numerous good restaurants. Plenty of room with a large very comfortable bedroom, new bathroom and adjoining sitting room all included in the appartment. Breakfast room a couple of steps away and open to guests 24hrs. Breakfast more than adequate. Host couldnt have been more helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJbelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 4 night break in Amsterdam and we had the pleasure of staying at The Old Lady, a canalside house very near to the Central Station which we found most convenient. We had a large bedroom to the rear of the property,very quiet and overlooking the garden. Spotlessly clean,with a large double bed and a delightful bathroom which had a large double shower and twin wash basins. Breakfast was very good with a good choice of cold meats and cheese and should you wish, eggs various and poffertjes. We were well looked after by Gjis the owner and others and would have no hesitation in staying here again should we find ourselves back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fife2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, SA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Booking.com has the correct ranking for this B&B. unfortunately small number of reviews puts this down the list so hopefully as more review this friendly, wonderfully situated, outstanding B&B it will go up the list. The owner is very helpful, breakfast is great with wide choice and room with courtyard outlook and lovely bathroom is fresh and extremely clean - and bed is so comfortable. Quality fittings. Highly recommended. Tank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 60PlusAdelaide_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked the double room at this small B&B and it was a delight, large light room, immaculate, really friendly and helpful host and in a perfect location. The breakfast was great too, I would happily recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#155 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
#104 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#72 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Herengracht 21
B&B Herengracht 21
#61 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Lady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lady

Property: The Old Lady
Address: Singel 38, 1015 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Lady 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Lady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing