We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Amsterdam
from $20.20
More Info
from $23.10
More Info
from $37.40
More Info
from $98.30
More Info
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
127
14
4
0
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
14
4
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews personal tour private collection amazing collection for sale different cultures answered every question massive collection tobacco shop collector guide history civilizations development objects interests furniture
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I think it is only opened in the afternoons, I turned up and paid about 10 euros. The manager shown me around giving various info on the massive collection. 30 mins may be all you need, close to lots of locations so easy to find. Worth while if you like random places!

Thank Swannynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

We visited on a whim, encouraged by the good reviews, and weren't disappointed. The museum isn't large but our guide was excellent in explaining the history, technology and art of pipes.

Thank dmcg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

The museu seems tiny from outside but it is actually pretty big. The collection is amazing, from the beginning of smoking to modern pipes, with some opium pipes thrown in as well. There were two people there - a man at the store counter and another one at the museum itself (which is upstairs). We went up and spent about an hour listening to him - greatly informative, always polite and in excellent English. The museum itself has very rare finds, such as the (at the time of production) disposable ceramic pipes that were still whole, and the whole collection is displayed proudly and logically. Going downstairs, to the store, the other man (I'm very sorry now I didn't get their names) was also polite and knowledgeable, helping me choose two good pipes to add to my collection. We ended up chatting for a few minutes about pipes and smoking and keeping the flame alive. Even the non-smokers, non-English speakers with me loved the museum.

Thank Thiago A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

Even if you are not a fan of tobacco and smoking you ll appreciate the history of these pipes. Nice short tour with many informations will educate and entertain you in the same time. Dont miss it!

Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018

Being a pipe smoker myself this was certainly a "must see" in Amsterdam for me. Interesting not only for pipe smokers as the pipes reflect parts of the history as well. Very nice experience with very friendly and helpful employees. Enjoyed the visit very much.

Thank Cruisenele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict G, Guest Relations Manager at Amsterdam Pipe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2018

Fine that you enjoyed your visit. Good to add that we have for the pipe smokers a nice shop at the entrance of the museum, that offers a huge range of modern pipes, made by all major and artisan pipe makers across Europe. The choice can be made from 3.000 different designs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

This small museum which is dedicated to pipes is small but very interesting. As nothing is labelled each visitor is given a short-guided tour of the exhibits, together with a history of pipe smoking. The guide was very knowledgeable, and we enjoyed our visit.

1  Thank 2016GMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

This museum is a gem! The pipe collection is from a life long pipe collector in his own house, donated after his passing. The artwork and unique pieces are an interesting history lesson, especially when shared by the dedicated and engaging interpreters at this site. Definitely a worthwhile experience in this city! Almost makes you want to smoke a pipe!

1  Thank Whereweare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018

Very interesting museum, I could never imagine that there is so much history behing the manufacture of a pipe.

1  Thank Evi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict G, Public Relations Manager at Amsterdam Pipe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

No-one can, since tobacco pipes are becoming rare in the streets these days. Quite different from the old days, when men really expressed themselves with the choise of pipe: impressing, decorated or simple and just adequate. All these, over a time span of 2,500 years are displayed in this museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

Great place to get pipes all kind and Stuyvesant, the knowledge of the people there si amazing. you can get all kind of pipes in styles and prices. Check particulary the old Dutch ceramic ones.

1  Thank omarramirez2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict G, Public Relations Manager at Amsterdam Pipe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

You are quite right, besides the museum section with 2,500 pipes from all over the world, we have an extensive offer of old and new smoking pipes in our museum shop. Both the regular briar pipes (in wood) and - our speciality - ceramic pipes that smoke excellent, since they are fully neutral in taste in itself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

Charming little place with a collection of pipes from various parts of the world. Without a guided tour (which you get for the ticket price) it would be a very short stop here. However, with the story behind it, it gets very interesting. You can learn a lot of interesting facts. Definitely worth a stop when you’re using IAmsterdam City Card.

1  Thank gregdzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews