We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza for real” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SOTTO - pizza legale

SOTTO - pizza legale
Amstelveenseweg 89, 1075 VW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 223 9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #601 of 3,021 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pizza for real”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Great place! Good service, and superb food! The menu is short and good. We went for antipasto misto as starter followed by pizza bresaola. It all tasted...great.
Will be back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
137 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A welcome addition to the Amstelveense weg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Went her for a quick bite before attending a birthdayparty. We were lucky that we could be seated, since we didn't make a reservation. The staff gave us the option to have a quick dinner. In hindsight I would have liked to stay here longer and taste some of the starters, but we only had time for a pizza. A great pizza, btw. One of the better pizza places in Amsterdam.

It was nice that the pizza's were prepared in an open kitchen area, so we could see the pizza makers work their magic.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kfbkrebbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Londres
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent pizza but way too noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Pizza is quite good (although the toping is limited). But we had to literally shout to speak to each other, and it was just 2 of us. It is just too noisy as the room is very small,full of people, and they are making the pizza... in the same room! which is cool to watch, but noisy too. I recomment it for a take away :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kmelia95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just like a great pizza should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I an very picky with pizzas preferring the ones we make ourselves at home. The pizza at Sotto was outstanding. Thin crispy crust, right balance between cheese & tomatoes, and plenty of tasty toppings. I had a quattre staggione. Delicious. The Tiramisu for desert was a killer. And the espresso as one should expect in an Italian restaurant

Helpful?
Thank chaver4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good pizza, mediocre service and atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The pizza's at this place are simply very good. I would not agree with some other readers that they are the best in Amsterdam (there are two or three other even better 'true Italian' pizza places) but they are very good.

The service at this place was not that great the time we visited; waitress seemed knowledgeable but there was like 10 minutes apart between moments at which pizza's were served to various people from our party of only four; also ordering some beers and a simple foccacia took significant time.

The place feels a bit 'industrial' or minimally decorated; good for a pizza with friends not so much for either a business meeting or a romantic dinner.

Value for money is good though; if you need a good quick pizza for an affordable price you found the right place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reinier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SOTTO - pizza legale also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to SOTTO - pizza legale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing