We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A welcome addition to the Amstelveense weg” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SOTTO - pizza legale

SOTTO - pizza legale
Ranked #926 of 3,557 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
137 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A welcome addition to the Amstelveense weg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Went her for a quick bite before attending a birthdayparty. We were lucky that we could be seated, since we didn't make a reservation. The staff gave us the option to have a quick dinner. In hindsight I would have liked to stay here longer and taste some of the starters, but we only had time for a pizza. A great pizza, btw. One of the better pizza places in Amsterdam.

It was nice that the pizza's were prepared in an open kitchen area, so we could see the pizza makers work their magic.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kfbkrebbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    46
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Londres
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent pizza but way too noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Pizza is quite good (although the toping is limited). But we had to literally shout to speak to each other, and it was just 2 of us. It is just too noisy as the room is very small,full of people, and they are making the pizza... in the same room! which is cool to watch, but noisy too. I recomment it for a take away :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kmelia95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just like a great pizza should be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I an very picky with pizzas preferring the ones we make ourselves at home. The pizza at Sotto was outstanding. Thin crispy crust, right balance between cheese & tomatoes, and plenty of tasty toppings. I had a quattre staggione. Delicious. The Tiramisu for desert was a killer. And the espresso as one should expect in an Italian restaurant

Helpful?
Thank chaver4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good pizza, mediocre service and atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The pizza's at this place are simply very good. I would not agree with some other readers that they are the best in Amsterdam (there are two or three other even better 'true Italian' pizza places) but they are very good.

The service at this place was not that great the time we visited; waitress seemed knowledgeable but there was like 10 minutes apart between moments at which pizza's were served to various people from our party of only four; also ordering some beers and a simple foccacia took significant time.

The place feels a bit 'industrial' or minimally decorated; good for a pizza with friends not so much for either a business meeting or a romantic dinner.

Value for money is good though; if you need a good quick pizza for an affordable price you found the right place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reinier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
195 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice thin pizzas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We got two pizzas 'to go' and eat them in the Vondelpark. We got a Margherita and a Verdure, both were very good. On the menu they use the term D.O.P. a lot. It stands for 'Denominazione d' Origine Protetta' (protected designation of origin). I don't really know it this *really* adds something, to be honest, but the pizzas were good. The choice is limited; they only have pizzas, some deserts and side dishes, but what they do, they do well. It used to be hard to get pizzas like this in Amsterdam/The Netherlands, so I'm glad Sotto is added to the choices. The place looks very cool, with the oven and industrial feel! Ps.: you can only pay with pin(debitcard)/creditcard, no cash!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beriha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SOTTO - pizza legale also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to SOTTO - pizza legale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing