We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Had a great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Helmers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
Ranked #7 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Had a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The B&B is very centrally located and easy to access the old part of town or restaurants and pubs nearby. There is even a bike rental place across the street so you can feel like a local!

Food was excellent and if you go in the summer, you can enjoy the rooftop patio with a great view of the city. Hosts were very friendly and helpful, definitely recommended!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank VancouverBrian19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    24
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
120
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed for three nights with two kids and had the entire apartment to ourselves. The place is fantastic, in a wonderful neighbourhood. The hostess was very welcoming, accommodating, and and full of excellent suggestions. The rooftop terrace is a real plus and we enjoyed it very much.

Room Tip: That the stairs up to the apartment are steep. Didn't bother us but think about this if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This B&B was truly a gem! Odette was very helpful and kind. My room was pristine clean, very cozy and there's a coffee/tea facility. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Bathroom and kitchen were clean too. She made my breakfast according to my dietary needs.

Transportation going there was easy, since a tram stop was just around the corner.
Restaurants/grocery store also nearby.

I will definitely stay here if I come to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YayoP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torquay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I highly recommend this beautiful gem of a B & B. We stayed here for 2 nights last week. Great location with spotlessly clean, quiet accommodation. The room was tastefully decorated & the bed was so comfy! Odette is a truly wonderful & gracious host. Breakfast was delicious & beautifully presented. The little touches of luxury make it all the more special. A great place to stay. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending B & B Helmers. Thank you so much for a great stay....just wish it could have been for longer!
Jo & Terry, Devon, UK.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berry2Torquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. While the initial climb to your room is a bit daunting (70 steps....yes 70 ...I counted), once you are there it is worth it. And the climb is pretty typical for Amsterdam. The rooms are very nice, not large but more than adequate. You share a bath and toilet but we experienced no inconvenience with this. Everything is extraordinarily clean. The rooftop terrace is a great place to have a drink before dinner, watch the sun go down over Amsterdam or as we did, enjoy a take-out rijsttafel meal from the Indonesian restaurant right beside the entrance door.
Location is great for museums and bicycling in Vondel Park, and convenient to the tram. A bit far from he centre.
Odette is a fantastic host....knowledgeable, friendly, helpful and just an all around nice person. And the Breakfasts are FANTASTIC! Would go back anytime.

Room Tip: Rooms facing street can be noisy if windows open. Windows closed=no noise. Good AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cancus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Following on from a hectic wedding in the UK, we decided to go with a small bunch of friends over to Amsterdam. Time was too short for a honeymoon and we had friends flying in from all around the world (including ourselves) we couldn't just expect them all to see us for just the wedding party so invited those who wanted to join along! Typical us, we pick a weekend in Amsterdam that is hosting a large conference and accommodation was scarce, or over inflated. We tried airbnb but to no avail. Then I happen to google B&Bs in Amsterdam and find Odette and Helmers B&B. We were going to be 5 so needed 3 rooms. Odette was always quick to respond and always gave very thorough information. All 5 of us work in the hospitality sector and can be very picky and fussy with service but I have to say, Odette shone through every step of the way. The accommodation was quite easy to find, only 1-2 stops on the tram from the centre (although we walked in most days). Rooms were well equipped, spotlessly clean and beds super comfortable. Rooms also had a mini fridge, TV, Tea/Coffee and aircon for the summer months. Breakfasts were freshly prepared by Odette herself and were different every day, she was also extremely chatty at the same time. She also had great knowledge of the area and provided a lot of useful information and maps etc. We had 3 of the 4 rooms and all were fantastic. A little too cold to enjoy the mornings on the roof terrace but I can imagine how lovely it would be on a nice sunny morning.

Odette I know you will be reading this so once again, many thanks for being an outstanding host for our party. We appreciated your attention to detail and the little touches that separate you from the competition. Let's get you up into the top 10! We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will look forward to visiting you again in the future.

Jamie & Woody.

Room Tip: We used all of the rooms and all were similar, just the windows different so you'll get a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odette O, Owner at Bed & Breakfast Helmers, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Jamie & Woody,

Thanks you so much for the lovely review! It was a true pleasure for us also to have you both and your friends stay with us. Besides the great fun and interesting stories I also got to learn something from you!

Hopefully next time you are in Amsterdam we can welcome you again.

Thanks again!

Odette & Fons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I had a great stay at Helmer's. From the beginning Odette replied to all my emails promptly and really went above and beyond my expectations as a host. The B&B is very new and in a central location. To top it all off the breakfast was amazing too! I wouldn't hesitate recommending Helmer's and if I make it back to Amsterdam I would be more than happy to stay again. Thank you Helmers!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntoniaCrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,283 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#12 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,665 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Helmers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Helmers

Property: Bed & Breakfast Helmers
Address: Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 59III | 1054 BT, 1054 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Helmers is a family friendly B&B in one of the most popular areas of Amsterdam "Oud West." The B&B is in walking distance of the most interesting sights in Amsterdam, such as the Museum District, The Jordaan, the Canals, Leidse Square & the Vondelpark. All rooms have been decorated in a traditional Dutch style with a modern twist and include private bathrooms and a fully stocked kitchenette to allow you to prepare breakfast at your own leisure. As your hosts we look forward to providing you with a unique experience where comfort & luxury is complemented with personal attention & service. As your hosts we look forward to giving you our 'insider tips' on sights, activities and restaurants so you can experience the city as a local. Rates:Double Occupancy: from 110,- euro per night Single Occupancy: from 100,- euro per night*All rates are including breakfast and 5% tourist tax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Helmers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing