We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“"A perfect choice"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Helmers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
Ranked #8 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
leicestershire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“"A perfect choice"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have just returned from a brilliant weekend stay at Helmers. A group of 5 woman wanting a touch of luxury at an affordable price and we made the best choice possible. Odette was brilliant from the time of the first enquiry until we left, nothing too much trouble and her advise on eating out and things to do was invaluable. The rooms are lovely, comfortable beds, flat screen tv, air con, tea making facilities, bath robes all add to the boutique experience. Breakfast was lovely and because we had great weather we ate on the roof terrace and chilled out up there too with the complimentary wine we got on our arrival. A very special place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miloleicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    24
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
120
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

After having been searching for a B&B in Amsterdam for a short stay we stumbelled upon B&B Helmers.
From the first e-mail contact I knew it was the right choice. Odette wrote us back immediately with all the details and directions on how to get there etc.
When arriving there we were greeted very warmly from Fons Odettes hubby ;-) taken to our room and were so surprised at the love put in to this place. Starting from bath robes, slippers, beautiful bathroom, wonderful bath products, a cute kitchen and an incredible terrace to the most amazing breakfast ever the next morning ...We will definitely be back...
Thank You soooo much for the love you put into this place and the positive energy <3

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the B&B Helmers during our trip to Amsterdam in June, and we were just floored by how thoughtful all the little details were in our room - from teas to slippers and robes. We were so comfortable in the clean room, stylish bath, and with the gloriously presented breakfast in bed. We enjoyed the rooftop garden very much, and enjoyed wine (complementary) together up there under the stars. Such a great location near the Vondelpark, and so convenient to get to from Schiphol by public transport. From there, we could walk nearly everywhere, and if not, there were tran stops within a couple mins walk. We had everything we could want - from WiFi to independence. And while I'm gushing on and on about it, I'd like to say that Odette and her husband were two of the loveliest people we met, and certainly deserve to have a successful B&B for all their creative vision and hard work. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I recently stayed for two nights. The rooms had nice big windows that let in natural light and made the room feel bright and spacious. The place feels new and is meticulously maintained. You could see the little touches in the furnishing that made our stay so comfortable.

Breakfast was amazing and thoughtfully prepared, and we got the chance to have it on the rooftop terrace which had a fantastic view.

Good location, just less than a minute's walk to two tram stations that will pretty much connect you to the major attractions in Amsterdam.

There is also a supermarket just round the corner.

Loved my stay; should have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Pretty rooms with clean bedsheets slippers and towels. Nice breakfast prepared by the host and awesome view from top of the roof terrace. Location is near the city centre and metros are available just less than 5mins walk away.

Wifi connection is strong and the neighbourhood is safe.

I enjoyed my stay in helmers. Thanks fons and odette!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Wonderful place for a stay in Amsterdam. Cleanliness of the place was top notch. The roof terrace was an amazing place to have breakfast and enjoy the view of the city. It is very convenient to get to the city centre by tram since the station was very near the place. Breakfast made was awesome owing to the fact that we made special request on the food. The splendid presentation of the breakfast added to the sincerity of the owner.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl Chia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Clean and quite B&B with a wonderful terrace with a 360° view of Amsterdam. Near Vondelpark and museums, rental bike service and tram stop. Odette is perfect! This is a really good choice to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fabri7it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,278 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#12 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,664 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#10 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,062 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Helmers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Helmers

Property: Bed & Breakfast Helmers
Address: Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 59III | 1054 BT, 1054 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Helmers is a family friendly B&B in one of the most popular areas of Amsterdam "Oud West." The B&B is in walking distance of the most interesting sights in Amsterdam, such as the Museum District, The Jordaan, the Canals, Leidse Square & the Vondelpark. All rooms have been decorated in a traditional Dutch style with a modern twist and include private bathrooms and a fully stocked kitchenette to allow you to prepare breakfast at your own leisure. As your hosts we look forward to providing you with a unique experience where comfort & luxury is complemented with personal attention & service. As your hosts we look forward to giving you our 'insider tips' on sights, activities and restaurants so you can experience the city as a local. Rates:Double Occupancy: from 110,- euro per night Single Occupancy: from 100,- euro per night*All rates are including breakfast and 5% tourist tax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Helmers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing