We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Did not honor reservation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Marnix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B Marnix
Ranked #99 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Did not honor reservation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

In July 2013 we made two separate one-night reservations at this B&B for both ends of a week long boat and bike trip planned for in May 2014. They happily took our reservations and confirmed them with an email. Three months later they wrote to tell us that they did not enter one of the dates in their system and now they no longer have any rooms to offer us. That is strange since they received both dates at the same time and then on their own realized that they had double booked. We can understand that they might want longer bookings, but they did not have to take our one night stays in the first place. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zana and Richar... v, Owner at B&B Marnix, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
This email reservation crossed an online booking. We noticed that unfortunately later when we checked our calendar. We did not closed the day on time. Also we did not communicated correctly to the quest when we searched for a alternative B&B. We have learned from this for future reservations.via email. Our website hosting is currently busy for future direct booking via our website. This will prevent double bookings. Again we apologize for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Arrived late on Monday night after a flight and was very happy to walk into such a welcoming place. Richard is so friendly and could not do enough to help us with our stay. The room was spotless, modern and spacious, had a very powerful hairdryer (something I don't always come across!), good tea and coffee making facilities and we both had 2 fantastic nights sleep - very comfy beds. Richard held our bags for us since our flight was in the evening so we could go out and enjoy our final day.

There's free wi-fi too, which is good for planning your day and a taxi number on the door which also proved useful. The place itself is in Jordaan and the walk to Dam square via Anne Frank house is stunning and only takes about 10 minutes. Lots of great little cafes, bars and houses to look into along the way. Great value for money, you couldn't ask for a better place to stay for a couple of days in Amsterdam!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorginaMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed with Zana and Richard at B&B Marnix in mid September before a Viking River Cruise to Budapest. We flew in from Africa then train to Central Station and taxi to 76 Marnixkade. Richard carried our luggage to the second floor room overlooking Singal Canal. The room was perfect. The outlook brilliant and Marnixkade easy to get to with tram virtually at the door giving access to all parts of the city. Plenty of cafes (bars) with great food nearby. I highly recommend B&B Marnix for any shortterm stay in Amsterdam

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms overlooking the Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ossie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ħal Balzan, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

What a great place and super clean. It is also located in a super place with nice views! The service was great and the hosting people were well mannered! Good money, well spent, thanks for such a nice stay!

Room Tip: Just, do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emmanuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My sister and I stayed in the canal view room for two nights and it was everything we needed. Richard was welcoming and helpful. We weren't leaving till late on the Monday night and he let us keep our things in the room so we could freshen up before flying. Our toilet was across from our room but this did not cause any problems. The room was bright, clean and within a 10 min walk to cafes and places to eat. Trams and buses stopped right around the corner. Definitely staying here again.

Room Tip: The canal view room has the toilet across from room but this is not an issue and view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Minibob4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

It was a good room, good beds, clean and a good location what do you want more. Refrigerator in the hal so can put you own stuff in. We visit the De la mar theater and it was only a little walk for 15 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Trudy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I loved the room with its white walls, stripped floors and eclectic mix of objects d'art. The view out to the canal was amazing with lots of activity on the water with boats and wildlife. There were excellent facilities including a fridge, hairdryer, coffee machine and kettle. Richard was welcoming and informative. I loved this area and would certainly return to BB Marnix.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#145 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
La Corte Sconta
#123 of 331 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Jordaan
B&B 180 Graden
B&B 180 Graden
#74 of 331 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
B&B La Festa
B&B La Festa
#30 of 331 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 331 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Marnix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Marnix

Property: B&B Marnix
Address: Marnixkade 762, 1015 ZE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BB Marnix has 2 bright and spacy rooms situated at the Jordaan and 17th century canal area (Marnixkade / Singelgracht canal) of Amsterdam with everything of interest within walking distance. The rooms are equipped with everything for a comfortable stay. 2 comfortable box spring beds (80x200), flatscreen tv, mini fridge, hairdryer, coffee and tea facilities, towels, Rituals luxurious shower gel, shampoo and soap. FREE WIFI, We are easy to reach by public transport (bus 18 & 21 from the Amsterdam Central Station. Or walk by foot (20 min.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your B&B Marnix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing