We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly amazing place to stay in Amsterdam”
Review of The Vanguard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Vanguard
Ranked #15 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Me and my girlfriend have gotten very lucky finding this gem of a B&B in Amsterdam. First of all it's located in the heart of the city, and walking distance from almost all the beautiful highlights of Amsterdam. The traditional and typical canal house seems to be recently renovated, crisp clean, and looks absolutely amazing! We stayed in the top floor room, and we felt like having our own little home in Amsterdam. Gijs, the host, goes out every morning to get fresh Dutch bread with croissants, and all sorts of beautiful fruits and other Dutch specialties. He and his girlfriend have been very helpful planning our stay here, and I am very grateful for everything he has done for us! I can recommend this place to anyone from bottom of my heart!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luc1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 185 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in Amsterdam at The Vanguard for 7 nights and we liked very much our stay. The location is almost in the heart of Amsterdam and the house is typical old Dutch building and newly renovated. Everything was clean and the beds and sheets very good. The breakfast was very fine specially the fresh orange juice, we all loved it. We stayed in the "loft" and it was nice to be able to sit on the small balcony in the afternoon and get a little tan. The only thing you have to beware of is that the stairs are quite steep.The owner Gijs did everything to make our stay enjoyable, very helpful and nice to talk to.

Thanks for a nice stay and takk fyrir okkur!
Ingibjörg, Gunnar and Rakel

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingibjörg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place certainly looks the part but has a long way to go before achieving b&b status and a long standing good reputation. I booked the loft room purely due to the reviews on here.... i was travelling with my partner and was hoping for a romantic weekend....our room was doubled book. The nice couple that was staying in the loft room had arrived 2 or 3 nights before us...so my question-why was we not notified before we left ? I could of booked my second choice hotel, it was a case of the owner wing'in and not wanting to loose money it if you ask me....
Anyway the room we had was on the first floor, we had a bathroom with SEPARATE toilet on the landing, so showering or going to the toilet be prepared to walk out into the hall....
Our room was clean, bright and airy but ill equipped, no wardrobe, no bin, no mirror and other items a standard hotel/b&b would/should have, the bathroom was lovely and clean with a great shower. Breakfast is continental, pretty standard. Location is excellent and within walking distance to most attractions. This place has so much potential, hope they pull their socks up and take note and provide the standard but much needed essentials that they lack.
I have family in Amsterdam and like to sample the many wonderful hotels/b&b's Amsterdam has to offer when I visit, however this is one I would not stay at again at the given price and lack of amenities at present.

Room Tip: ear plugs as the barges make alot of noise, also the area is quite lively at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was staying in Vanguard for a night on July 4th then i was heading for paris the next day. Gijs was not there but he arranged everything before i arrived. His friend, Derk , is a very nice young guy and provide assistance all the time. i took the third floor room, with a relative big bedroom with a small sitting room attached, where you can enjoy the tea with the beautiful view of canal. The bathroom and toilet is separate, super clean and with everything you need.

The location of the guesthouse is definitely a plus. Within walking distance, u can go anywhere of the major attractions. It is relaxing and very good residential area.

The next morning, the breakfast is interesting although there were some small mistakes going on. The salmon is very nice and coffee bright the day up!

I will definitely come back next time to Amsterdam!
Good job!

Cindy

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flywanyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

As others have mentioned, the location is excellent for this B&B - you can cycle or walk pretty much anywhere that you like. It is just under a 1/2 hour walk to the central station with bags (although I recommend the tram to Rembrandtsplein if you have luggage!). We stayed in the loft room which was beautiful and clean with a very comfortable large bed. The owner was away and his friend was in charge and he was very helpful and friendly, giving us a lot of advice on things to see and places to eat that were off the beaten track. The only reason that I didn't rate this 5 stars is that we weren't told until check-out that we needed to pay cash since the owner is the one who accepts credit cards only. But this wasn't a problem other than a slight inconvenience. This is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: The loft is beautiful and very private (top floor) with a lot of space. If you have problems with s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiseAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Excellent host, very helpful and flexible. The whole place is beautiful and the room was very stylish and comfortable. Conveniently located near many attractions but quiet and peaceful. If you have a car easy and cheap to do Park and Ride. The Vanguard certainly added to our enjoyment of Amsterdam and I wish we could have stayed longer. Breakfast was very good.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a fabulous five days, staying at The Vanguard with a very attentive and stylish host, Gijs. The location was ideal, next to the picturesque "seven bridges" and lively Rembrandt Square. Gijs gave us some great tips for entertainment, bars and cycling tours and we would recommend his beautiful B&B, plus excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank salsadebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,845 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,671 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
928 reviews
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 338 in Amsterdam
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vanguard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanguard

Address: Reguliersgracht 2, 1017 LR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $196 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vanguard is hidden in the vibrant heart of the city which is part of the Unesco World Heritage. All rooms in this hous view on two canals, unique in Amsterdam.The whole interior is recently restyled by Robert Broekema with a fresh take on the design of the traditional canal house. The city's cultural highlights and hotspots are all in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Vanguard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing