We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“In a meat & potatoes town their balls shine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meatballs - CLOSED

Meatballs
Price range: $10 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“In a meat & potatoes town their balls shine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Small dining area at high top tables but the food was very tasty. Many flavors and options. The expectation of a great meatball is that they are tender and these were.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnetonkaMikie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    36
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
104 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Peculiar and good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

As the name of the restaurant suggest, meatballs are the specialty. You can choose up to three meatballs and you can "customize" the order by choosing the kind of meat, the sauce, the side dish (pasta, vegetables, potatoes, ecc.).
The meat and the side dishes are very good, and it is not too expensive. The restaurant is near the central station, it is easy to reach, and after eating you can go for a walk in the centre of Amsterdam.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Recomended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We went here because a Facebook friend recommended it as its owned by her nephew.

Its situated just of the Red Light District.

The service was friendly and prompt, but the food......... Who knew meatballs could be so good? The sides were excellent too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bigglesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“MEAT-balls?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

My friend stumbled upon this restaurant by accident and we were intrigued by the idea of vegetarian meatballs. So we made a trip there for lunch.

Very nice offerings. Both of us chose the "Mix and Match" which allowed us to choose 3 different "meatballs", 3 sauces and 1 veggie. My friend had a pasta which I decided I didn't have the capacity for.

We ended up ordering the Amsterdam Veggie Ball, Pumpkin Ball, Spicy Pork, Tasty Lamb, Garlic Chicken and the "Special" of the day, which was chicken with honey mustard sauce. For the veggies, we went for the Baked Spinach Japanese Style and Mashed Carrots with Pine Nuts and Popcorn. I had a craving for Coleslaw and ordered that too.

The sole disappointment was the Baked Spinach Japanese Style -- it was drowning in soy sauce and way too salty to be edible. The other dishes, however, were good. I particularly enjoyed the Coleslaw. I was biased since I had a craving, but it was not the creamy KFC coleslaw. No. This was nice and crunchy, tart and refreshing. The Mashed Carrots with Pine Nuts and Popcorn was a an interesting dish, though not quite something a single person can finish. The pine nuts were a nice touch. Popcorn was probably just for effect.

All in all, decent place for lunch...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Food_Art_Junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
319 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A Great Find - near Red Light District”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We have rented an apartment and our landlady suggested this restaurant. It turned out to be a great find. We have just arrived today and have not yet settled to local time. It was a great relief to find that the restaurants in Amsterdam open early unlike much of Southern Europe. We arrived shortly after 4:30pm - the only other patrons were a pair of Americans also having an early dinner.

Meatballs are what is on the menu - if you don't want them don't come here. They do have vegetarian options, though. The routine is to settle first on how many - the set meals have either two or three included. You can have a variety or all one type.

I chose three meatballs - lamb in a yoghurt sauce. Really excellent. My wife had two pork meatballs in a spicy tomato sauce. Included in the meal is a choice of vegetable dishes - the choices change daily. We had spinach cooked in a soy sauce, fennel salad with citrus dressing and mashed carrots with pine nuts and popcorn (really!it was good!). Lastly we could choose an item from the rice/pasta/potato list. I had potatoes mashed with celeriac and they where phenomenal. My wife ordered a fried risotto ball - it must have been good because it disappeared very quickly.

We had a selection of Dutch and Belgian beers which went nicely with the meal. The bartender was friendly and attentive.It was a great experience. We sat at the bar - there is also table service. The place was beginning to fill up by the time we left at 6:00. Dinner for two - lots of good food and drink was €40,00. Be aware - they don't accept cash, only credit and debit.

And for something different try the Rabarcello liquer. Have you had limoncello? This the same idea but made with rhubarb - it is way better than you might expect!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank fishnguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meatballs also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing