We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect without question”
Review of House of Amstel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
House of Amstel
Ranked #91 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We came here for a short break. The apartment was perfectly located lots of trams to take to local places of interest. Great markets, dam square is a pleasant stroll with lots of stop offs for a drink or whatever floats your boat! Would recommend a boat trip it was fascinating and weather was just right. Would 100% go back and stay there again. Kai was very accommodating nothing too much hassle. Spot on!!! Quite steep stairs so if mobility is an issue probably not a good idea but there is a ground floor flat so ask for that. There is a bar situated to the left of the apartment and my friend said it was loud but with windows closed it's hardly noticeable. I slept like a baby on the bed anyway so never heard a thing! A great little find this was :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roz2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 56 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed in the lower apartment, lots of people preening in the one way window, but not so one way in the night. Good location, taxi rank outside, canal cruise outside, tour bus stop outside, very busy noisy bar next door!!! Good place to stay if your out all night!! No air conditioning, very small half opening windows, would be very warm in summer months. We moved to a different hotel for the rest of our stay.. Friends stayed in an upper appartment lovely views but no curtains and opening windows which almost fell of the hinges resulted in wafts of the local smelling smoke and noisy bar till 4.00am.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The location: super convenient
The design and cleanliness: just ok, nothing notable. There are some "extras" such as an iPad and a Nespresso machine which seem to be added in order to compensate for the problems.

The problems:
We stayed in the ground floor room (which is actually about two steps below ground) and has its own separate two-door entrance off the street. This room (to call it an apartment would be an overstatement) is a bit dark and claustrophobic. You cannot open any windows (but even if you could, you wouldn't want to because the window looks directly out on a narrow and busy part of the sidewalk).
Street noise from cars and pedestrians seems to be amplified. In our case, there was also internal noise, i.e. footsteps from the apartment above, and noise from the heating/water pipes?
During the day, the window works as a one-sided mirror, i.e. you can see passers-by but they can't see you. This needs some getting used to, especially when people outside stare in the mirror-window to check out their hair (yes this has happened a couple of times)! In the evening, they can see through so you have to shut the blinds. Also, we had people knock on our door a couple of times (once at 10pm) thinking that this was the door for the "hotel" (?). This can give you a slight sense of insecurity if you are not used to a living space with such direct access to the street.

Lighting in the evening was not enough/functional; none of the bedside lights worked. We called the manager but he didn't get back to us on that day (otherwise he was a nice guy).
Finally, there were mosquitoes in the room, probably coming from the little open window (out to a back side of the building?) which was high up in the bathroom. Unusual for so early in the year but perhaps due to the "basement" nature of the room?

All in all, not a good value for the money. We are generally easy going so none of the above would've been detrimental if the price was lower.

Perhaps the top floor apartments do not have the same problems but then this one should've been much lower priced.

Room Tip: This review is only for the ground floor room. Perhaps the top floor apartments do not have the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Amazing location, great to have a stunning apartment to come back to after a day sightseeing to then use the lovely shower to get ready and hit the bars and clubs which are also really close. Felt like home. Gorgeous view of the canal just outside the window. iPad was a good touch and the free wi-fi always goes down well. So many things near by to see and do. Great coffee shops, restaurants. Didn't need to use public transport once even in the cold....was able to walk to ann frank house, red light district, dam square, amsterdam dungeons, sex museum etc. The room was very contemporary and clean. Felt very safe in the area. Only downside we the 'mini fridge' unable to fit a lot in it and it wasn't very cold, also no toaster and I wasn't told how to use the coffee maker, but these things to me we're not a major issue. I'm sure if I contacted 'kai' the owner he would of explained how to use it. Check out was simple enough, just had to leave the key in the room at 11am. FYI taxi from and to airport from the apartment costs around €40. I will most definitely be travelling to amsterdam again and first choice of accommodation will be amstel house...

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaurWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend a few nights. The apartment is beautiful and clean och the location is just great! The only thing that bothered us a bit was the constant sound from the waterpipes. We will be back :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinSchyllert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I chose these apartments as I knew that they were in an excellent location and looked lovely in the photographs. Sure enough we found our way to them without a problem. We were very early as check in was at 14:00 but Kai had advised us that we could call if we arrived early to see if it was possible to store our luggage. We called from the Rembrandtsplein which is just behind the apartments and were advised someone would meet us outside in 20 minutes. A lovely, friendly lady arrived at 11am promptly and securely locked away our luggage in the apartment block and advised us Kai would return at 14.00 to deal with our check in. This happened as promised without any issues, we were taken to our room and paid our 260 euros which I feel was extremely reasonable for the view and location. We did not have a televison as promised, but this was not a problem as we didn't want to spend our weekend watching television anyway. We did however have an Ipad and a wonderful view of the Amstel river which was a bonus. The bed was extra comfortable and as mentioned before, the bathroom and shower was of a really good size. I cannot see how previous reviewers have stated that it was dirty. We found the room to be exceptionally clean and any dirty would have been noticeable as the room is decorated in black and white. We did not experience any of the noise that has been previously mentioned either. Overall I think these apartments offer excellent value and we received really good service. If we were to return in summer or spring, i would love to book the upstairs room with the roof terrace but either way I would not hestitate in booking to stay at the House of Amstel again. Many thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, which was easy to find. We were on the top floor with our own private terrace which was great. Lovely views of the city, however I would only book this room in the summer to enjoy sitting and using the BBQ which had been provided. The other rooms seemed to be just as good. The bed was very comfy and the shower was great. There is a closet to hang your clothes together with a iron, ironing board, hairdryer, shampoo, shower gel, and all kitchen appliances. They even supplied tea and coffee. There is a convenience store a few doors down where we got some milk. Excellent value for money and next time we come to Amsterdam, we will be booking to stay here.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hostelle
#35 of 241 in Amsterdam
268 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,236 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#124 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Amstel

Address: Amstel 16, 1017 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $185 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your House of Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing