We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best accommodation so far in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Amstel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
House of Amstel
Ranked #105 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Best accommodation so far in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend a few nights. The apartment is beautiful and clean och the location is just great! The only thing that bothered us a bit was the constant sound from the waterpipes. We will be back :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinSchyllert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
6
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I chose these apartments as I knew that they were in an excellent location and looked lovely in the photographs. Sure enough we found our way to them without a problem. We were very early as check in was at 14:00 but Kai had advised us that we could call if we arrived early to see if it was possible to store our luggage. We called from the Rembrandtsplein which is just behind the apartments and were advised someone would meet us outside in 20 minutes. A lovely, friendly lady arrived at 11am promptly and securely locked away our luggage in the apartment block and advised us Kai would return at 14.00 to deal with our check in. This happened as promised without any issues, we were taken to our room and paid our 260 euros which I feel was extremely reasonable for the view and location. We did not have a televison as promised, but this was not a problem as we didn't want to spend our weekend watching television anyway. We did however have an Ipad and a wonderful view of the Amstel river which was a bonus. The bed was extra comfortable and as mentioned before, the bathroom and shower was of a really good size. I cannot see how previous reviewers have stated that it was dirty. We found the room to be exceptionally clean and any dirty would have been noticeable as the room is decorated in black and white. We did not experience any of the noise that has been previously mentioned either. Overall I think these apartments offer excellent value and we received really good service. If we were to return in summer or spring, i would love to book the upstairs room with the roof terrace but either way I would not hestitate in booking to stay at the House of Amstel again. Many thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, which was easy to find. We were on the top floor with our own private terrace which was great. Lovely views of the city, however I would only book this room in the summer to enjoy sitting and using the BBQ which had been provided. The other rooms seemed to be just as good. The bed was very comfy and the shower was great. There is a closet to hang your clothes together with a iron, ironing board, hairdryer, shampoo, shower gel, and all kitchen appliances. They even supplied tea and coffee. There is a convenience store a few doors down where we got some milk. Excellent value for money and next time we come to Amsterdam, we will be booking to stay here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The pictures posted online are glamour shots not the reality. If all you care about is a private roof deck then this place may be right for you. However, if you'd like a room with a comfortable bed and pillows, a quiet place to sleep in a good temperature, or you'd like a room that is even remotely clean- I'd stay away from this place. At $250 a night I don't think it's too much to ask for the above and a TV and water kettle that functions. All I can say is yuck!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the House of Amstel for several days and couldn't have enjoyed it more. It is not your typical hotel, it is more like renting an apartment...you get the experience of staying in one of the traditional, classic Amsterdam-style houses along its famous canals. The rooms, though, are like those in a modern hotel, stylishly decorated with more amenities than I have seen at hotels 4 times more expensive. There was a small kitchen area, which made stocking our own breakfast convenient. Each room has it's own iPad and it's own Nespresso coffee make, pods included. Both are incredible touches that I had never seen before. Such details are common in the hotel. The hotel only recently opened and you can tell that no corners were cut...the finishings in the bathroom are high end, the bedding is great, the decor is inspired.

House of Amstel borders the Amstel Canal and is close enough to walk everywhere you might want to go. The views of the canal, both up and down, are exactly the views you want to see when visiting. You are directly in front of the beautiful Hotel De L'Europe and have views of two bridges.

We had great experiences with the staff and the owner, a young man from Amsterdam. He was very helpful with suggestions and it really seemed as if he wanted to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

A great hotel...highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardClark01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed on the third floor suite with a beautiful view of the canal and Amstel street. We had a difficult time finding the place, walking passed it a couple of times before seeing the paper on the door with the name. The suite was very spacious and clean. It had a nice kitchenette with a Nespresso, fridge, sink and dishes. The IPad is a great idea! Street was busy but not extremely so. Great location just around the corner fr the Rembrandt Square. It is a great value and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

we stayed at the upper floor. very nice room. designed and renovated. nice shower. have everything u need inside. greate window view. greate location close to the flowere market and to a tram station. its not a hotel its an apartment. steep starecase

Helpful?
1 Thank Yifat S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#162 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#163 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#61 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,691 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Bird
Hotel The Bird
#90 of 329 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Coco's Outback Apartments
Coco's Outback Apartments
#73 of 217 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Amstel

Property: House of Amstel
Address: Amstel 16, 1017 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your House of Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing