We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice steak, pleasant owner - dreadful sides & cork in wine”

La Luna Steakhouse Grill
Reserve with
La Luna Steakhouse Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #163 of 3,858 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
335 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Nice steak, pleasant owner - dreadful sides & cork in wine”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Both my partner and I ordered two different cuts of steak both of which were cooked to perfection and were really very tasty. The owner's wife was on duty & was witty,entertaining & genuinely helpful. The steak itself was fairly priced & you could choose the size steak you wanted.

Unfortunately, we ordered a bottle of wine which the waitress left half of the cork inside the bottle when opening - my partner found cork in his wine while we had dinner. The wine itself was only average. Also we ordered a side of fries, onion rings, corn on the cob and baked potato - each side cost circa €3 - they were appalling. Not one of the sides that we expected to be homemade were homemade, the chips & onion rings were cheapest of the cheap freezer aisle straight from a bag. The baked potato was small but tasty.

This is a lovely little restaurant with pleasant owners however for the price we paid €80 excl tip, we would have expected better quality sides & cork fee wine. All in all, the friendly owner & good steak did make our meal enjoyable despite the above issues, as did our romantic window seat however the sides really left a lot to be desired & a bottle of wine should be opened properly when ordered.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill_Dublin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    237
    74
    34
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome but disappointing food”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We made a reservation at La Luna after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. We were warmly welcomed by the owners and seated at a table near the door. Not the best seats of the house on colder days as the door gets opened quite a lot by the owners who take turns standing outside to call in new customers. Also, the lighting above our table was rather harsh and not pleasant for the eyes.
We ordered appetizers. The Argentinian sausages and the spare ribs were tasty. The guacamole tasted exactly as if it comes out of a jar. When they ask if you would like some bread, know that it is not complementary (5 euro for 5 slices).
The filet steak was not cooked as ordered . We had fries and peppersauce as sides. The fries were dry and not freshly made, more like the frozen ones. The peppersauce was also very ordinary and again did not taste as home made.
We have been to many steakhouses all over the world and this one was the most disappointing. The owners are very friendly and treat you as a friend more than as just another tourist. However, we will eat our Argentinian steak elsewhere next time we are in Amsterdam.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SP MD 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jfaiz, Manager at La Luna Steakhouse Grill, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Sir /Madam

Thank you for your response. We really do appreciate the time you took to do so.

We welcome your feedback as it makes us aware of what is not optimal at the moment and we really will take on board your comments about the lights and entrance.

We do apologise for not being up to our usual standard but do appreciate your comments about our service.

Kind regards
Mario and Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
207 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good steak, special atmosfere”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We have decided to try this restaurant thank to tripadvisor. We are happy we did. Owners are friendly (sometimes to friendly and more shy people can this experience as disturbing). Great steak, perfectly baked, but do not except the same from tuna steak. It was way too well cooked and too dry! So if you fancy a steak, this is place to be. If you fancy tuna, try somewhere else.

Helpful?
Thank Mirooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jfaiz, Manager at La Luna Steakhouse Grill, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to do so.

Me and Jennifer are really passionate about our restaurant and are really proud of what we have achieved in the short time we have been open. In October 2013 we celebrated our first birthday.

If we do come across too friendly it is because we so enjoy welcoming new guests to our "home", but we will in future be more careful and aware of how we approach shyer guests.

Thank you once again, and next time we will make sure that our tuna is also cooked to perfection as it usually is, our apologies for that.

Kind regards
Mario and Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“Amazing and excellent service!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is by far the best restaurant in Amsterdam. The owner, his wife and the entire staff had great personalities and were very accommodating. They made our dinner very enjoyable. We ordered the salmon and Argentina sirloin and both were very delicious. After traveling literally all around the world, this restaurant is my all time favorite!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyLou567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It was just ok”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Had great expectations for this place but it was a bit of a let down, Mario was great but his staff member was lazy and quite rude, even smoking a cigarette around the customers eating, whist trying to get new custom from the street. Not really on and im a smoker. Steak was just ok... should have forked out the extra for a Gauchos

Helpful?
1 Thank mrmucka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luna Steakhouse Grill also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Luna Steakhouse Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing