We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, very nice neighbourhood, value for money”
Review of Sjudoransj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sjudoransj
Ranked #37 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Jan of this year for one night. Very nicely designed room with comfortable bed and shower. The area is vivid and in the centre, however quiet. Near good shopping area's (e.g. "Negen Straatjes"). Breakfast included indeed freshly squeezed OJ!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WouterB1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 225 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014

Wow, what a nice place, run by very nice people. We booked both rooms for our family, both were lovely. The Vermeer upstairs is quieter, and has a small balcony overlooking neighbours' gardens, which is a nice bonus. Godfrey and Dennis are excellent, relaxed but accommodating hosts and you will feel very welcome. I think this is one of my all-time favourite places to stay, especially considering the size of the place.

Some things you should know - this is a very small establishment, more a B&B than a hotel. Therefore there is no concierge (although Godfrey is there most of the time), and - most importantly - no credit card machine! There's also no lift, and Amsterdam stairs are steep. If these things matter to you, go spend heaps more money on a big hotel, but you'll be missing out.

I must answer a previous reviewer who complained about the noise in the Van Gogh room - well yes this room is over the street (1st floor), but it's a quiet street considering the central location (10 mins from the station, close to many nice bars and restaurants). We slept in that room for a week, during which Holland played two World Cup matches, and we didn't find the noise problematic at all.

The only problem we have is that we're now both addicted to Nespresso coffee, which is supplied free and ad libidum in both rooms ;-)

All in all, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Vermeer is (slightly) quieter and has a pleasant balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank GrayCushion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Sjudoransj B&B is wonderful! The location is great for touring Amsterdam and getting a feel for the city. The room is nicely appointed, the shower is great, and the comfortable bed offers a good night’s sleep. Breakfast is plentiful and delicious.

Most of all, Dennis and Godfrey are perfect hosts, offering guests privacy – or advice and assistance when asked; they are most friendly, and take a personal interest in their guests. I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast for a stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2travel155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I cannot review this wonderful place without duplicating all the positives people have said before. We loved, loved our stay here, the bed was an ocean of comfort and luxury, the breakfast delicious (so much so I would go back just for this!) the room was of modern design including cool art and a cute little espresso machine, with a lovely outlook out our french doors over the garden accompanied by the lovely bird song... in a groovy area with interesting shops, eating stops and views. Our wonderful hosts were most friendly and helpful and I only hope to visit them again one day soon!

Room Tip: This is a classic quaint Amsterdam residence with steep steps up to the rooms so if you have difficu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DerynandMau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our bedroom : full of light, very stylist, very good bed with nice bedsheets, confortable bathroom. On top, a great host always happy to give advises and recommendations.
BUT, we were in the Van Gogh room which was on the street side and was far too noisy to enjoy a good night.
If you have a chance to get the Vermeer room, which is on the courtyard, go for it!
I need to add on top that the stairs are also very noisy and you can hear everything which is happening there.
Discussing with our host, it seems that there are planning to change the windows of the Van Gogh room, which will be a real benefit.
If I would have known how noisy the room was, I would not have booked this place (the Vermeer room was already booked at that time).
I need to add, that breakfast is great, and worst to take!

Room Tip: only the Vermeer room as the Van Gogh one is too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cess_venise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at sjudoransj for 3 nights before a cruise.
The perfect place in the perfect location.
We felt like locals after 3 days.
Breakfast was excellent, the room light and airy and very comfortable.
We would stay here again without hesitation.
Dennis was a wonderful host

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jamoinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Sjudoransj is as wonderful as Amsterdam itself. It's perfectly situated in the Joordan with it's nice little shops, cafes and bars. The room is beautifully decorated and the beds are big and comfortable. The breakfast is great with freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh bread, Oliebollen, cheese, ham, salami and jam brought to the room in a basket every morning. Every room is equipped with a Nespresso machine and a water boiler. Dennis one of the two innkeepers was extremely friendly and helpful. I can only recommend this B & B to anyone traveling to Amsterdam and I'll definitely stay here again when I'm traveling to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TAHI31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#47 of 338 in Amsterdam
121 reviews
Jordaan
Eelhouse B&B
Eelhouse B&B
#32 of 338 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 338 in Amsterdam
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Stout & Co. Amsterdam
Stout & Co. Amsterdam
#42 of 338 in Amsterdam
91 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Quartier Neuf
B&B Quartier Neuf
#49 of 338 in Amsterdam
106 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#22 of 338 in Amsterdam
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sjudoransj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sjudoransj

Address: Goudsbloemstraat 91/1, 1015 JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $119 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Fresh orange juice ...good coffee...comfortable beds....fine linen...luxury bathrooms...fluffy towels...design...attention to detail...really nice hosts...deli breakfast...fresh flowers...affordable...privacy..." Sjudoransj is a new upmarket Bed and Breakfast situated in the middle of Amsterdam's buzzing Jordaan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sjudoransj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing