We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Phenomenal food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sirene

La Sirene
Ranked #751 of 3,332 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $40
Cuisines: Dutch, French, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A wonderful panoramic view over the canals, superb wines and magical food are the unique ingredients of LaSirene restaurant. The menu has been created with the best seasonal ingredients, local products and the best of ourselves. LaSirene is honored in the 2014 Michelin guide with a BIB gourmand, an award for outstanding value for money. We look forward to welcome you! Team LaSirene
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Phenomenal food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The chef changes the menu seasonally based on the fresh food available. My girlfriend and I were fortunate enough to experience their summer menu at a fantastic price of €32pp for a 3 course meal. This also included several orderves between courses to wet the appetite. The fusion of flavours in the dishes is enough to put a satisfying grin on anybody's face, with a scenic view of the Amsterdam canals.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FenBmanager, Manager at La Sirene, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your review about your experience in LaSirene. I am very happy to read you enjoyed our food, drinks and service. Cindy Mulders F&B manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    22
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Taste and texture delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had a fabulous meal in this restaurtant on our first night in Amsterdam, staying in the hotel to which the restaurant "belongs". Fantastic view of the canals, intimate and relaxed atmosphere, professional, good humoured staff, fabulous food; great combinations of flavour and texture. We had the three course menu, and were surprised and delighted with the numerous amuse bouches which precedeed and followed the menu. A real delight.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best dinner in ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

My wife & I found La Sirène in a Dutch language online review, and while we do not speak much Dutch, the pictures of some of the dishes said "gotto try this!".

Finding the restaurant proved the first and only item we had even the slightest issue with. It's carefully hidden inside the Wyndham Hotel, don't think you'll find the name of the restaurant on a sign anywhere even if you look.

Once inside - what can I say. A magnificent three course dinner, the lobster appetizer outstanding, the fish (Rode Poon, aka Gurnard) more outstanding than that, cooked to perfection, accompanied by delicious spices and sauces, not a fish bone in sight. Desert out of this world. The presentation was just as gorgeous, delivered in first rate service, with details and context for everything offered, prompt and courteous, we could not have asked for anything more! The table, with a beautiful view on the water, rounded off this most exceptional experience.

Easily the best dining experience in a week long Amsterdam visit, and the best anywhere in a long time before that. The San Francisco Bay area has its nice venues, but La Sirène really does stand out. Would go back here any time we return to Amsterdam in the future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hermes42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple but great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a wonderful fish evening, all the dishes were wonderful and had great flavours. There was a possibility to change wines with each course but we enjoyed our first white wine and had this throughout the meal

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MVVHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unimpressive service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Had booked a table for lunch with a client a couple of weeks in advance. Show up 5 min early and is told the restaurant now actually has been fully committed to a large group and they could not accomodate our booking. Suggested we have lunch in the bar instead with a basic bar menu ... Asked why they had not called me in advance to let me know and was just told 'We could have done that'. Total indifferent service!

A first and not very professional.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JakobBengt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sirene also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Sirene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing