We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Simple but great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Sirene

La Sirene
Ranked #1,054 of 3,685 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $38
Cuisines: Dutch, European, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A wonderful panoramic view over the canals, superb wines and magical food are the unique ingredients of LaSirene restaurant. The menu has been created with the best seasonal ingredients, local products and the best of ourselves. LaSirene is honored in the 2014 Michelin guide with a BIB gourmand, an award for outstanding value for money. We look forward to welcome you! Team LaSirene
Doorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple but great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a wonderful fish evening, all the dishes were wonderful and had great flavours. There was a possibility to change wines with each course but we enjoyed our first white wine and had this throughout the meal

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MVVHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    23
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unimpressive service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Had booked a table for lunch with a client a couple of weeks in advance. Show up 5 min early and is told the restaurant now actually has been fully committed to a large group and they could not accomodate our booking. Suggested we have lunch in the bar instead with a basic bar menu ... Asked why they had not called me in advance to let me know and was just told 'We could have done that'. Total indifferent service!

A first and not very professional.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JakobBengt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
381 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good food in hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

The food was good, we had a three course dinner, molecular cooking style, which means mousses and foam etc. Good bread and nice amuses before the first course arrived. Fried scallops as a starter was nice, so was the cod as a main course. The desert with pear in a chololat sauce was uneventful, with the chocolat too dominant. Good tapwater for free and good housewines by the glass. Good for a restaurant in a hotel. The service was much too amicable to our taste.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amsterdam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Level Contributor
324 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

The sommelier in LaSirene has a wonderful way with guests and helps one enjoy the delicious food. I have paid much more for meals in famous restaurants which did not equal the presentation, style and taste that LaSirene seemed to make almost effortlessly. A great evening out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice dinner with Gluten Free surprises”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had dinner in the restaurant. The youngest needs to eat “Gluten Free”. The restaurant handled this very well. Even the small appetizers were made specially gluten free for her. Destert was specially made for her. She loved it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michiel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sirene also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Sirene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing