We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A wonderful evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sirene

La Sirene
Ranked #874 of 3,431 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $40
Cuisines: Dutch, French, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A wonderful panoramic view over the canals, superb wines and magical food are the unique ingredients of LaSirene restaurant. The menu has been created with the best seasonal ingredients, local products and the best of ourselves. LaSirene is honored in the 2014 Michelin guide with a BIB gourmand, an award for outstanding value for money. We look forward to welcome you! Team LaSirene
Amman
Level Contributor
285 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The sommelier in LaSirene has a wonderful way with guests and helps one enjoy the delicious food. I have paid much more for meals in famous restaurants which did not equal the presentation, style and taste that LaSirene seemed to make almost effortlessly. A great evening out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    22
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice dinner with Gluten Free surprises”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had dinner in the restaurant. The youngest needs to eat “Gluten Free”. The restaurant handled this very well. Even the small appetizers were made specially gluten free for her. Destert was specially made for her. She loved it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michiel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
212 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good kitchen, quiet tables, good views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

La Sirène has become a regular choice for me. The menu is much better than you would expect for the hotel. I generally take the €35 three course menu, which has never disappointed me. Service is generally eager and willing, but not at the same quality level as the kitchen. The restaurant is spacious which means ample room between tables, which allows for discrete conversation. Ask for a table at the window, as this offers a direct view of the canal and even more discretion. The hotel has its own parking, making it a good choice in the neighborhood for guests arriving by car.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FernIze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“SO BEAUTIFUL.....!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The moment we got our place at the restaurant La Siren, we felled peaceful, surrounded by the beautiful canals and the smile of the staff made it complete. We where there with Eastern, after a beautiful Eastern concert we chose for an 5 course arrangement inclusive wine. The quality of the food, the service and the love for perfection made Eastern special. Thanks all!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mistersax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I dined here with my partner and 2 friends. Had a bit of a shaky start as when we went to order our meal (at 20.30) one of the 4 mains courses offered was sold out (2 of the guests wanted these). Substitutes were chosen. I explained I was gluten free and this was acknowledged as ok. Being honest I was surprised as trying to eat gluten free in the Netherlands can be a nightmare. However true to their word I was presented with gluten free options through the whole meal.

Would recommend the veal and the 2011 Saint Veran was a perfect accompaniment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cmccarthy020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sirene also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Sirene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing