We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheese, more cheese and some ham” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Kaaskamer

De Kaaskamer
Ranked #17 of 294 Shopping in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cheese, more cheese and some ham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Taste Amsterdam here. Explosion of tastes and aromas. Make your picnic basket there and enjoy outside or at least in your hotel. They also have home made ham, salamis and sausages. Ask for the sandwich, you can choose several fillings and the bread is fantastic. And the price is not for tourist :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    23
    5
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best chees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

This place i used to go quite oftenly, in this Shop i found some Very speacial cheess i that i have never Seen or taste before,,,and populär too...so i recommend to be here once....

Helpful?
Thank van k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely cheese shop with very helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is an absolutely lovely cheese shop in the Nine Streets neighborhood of Amsterdam. The staff is exceptionally helpful, offering samples and explaining the different items for sale. We purchased several kilos to take home!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bucketlisters202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This place is filled from floor to ceiling with the finest cheeses (400) from all over Europe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Crafstmanship and tradition define this very special cheese shop located in the Nine Streets neighborhood (9 Straatjes). Not only do they have the most amazing selection of cheeses from all over Europe, but they also have a large selection meats, wines, olives, and homemade salads. In addition, they make specialty sandwiches to order.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dpauI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great selection of cheeses. I just wanted authentic Dutch gouda and chose the mild, although I was able to taste the mild, middle and strong goudas. Staff was very friendly and helped me ship some back to the States as well. You can also track your shipment online. I had a question about mine and received a very quick response via email. Will definitely be going back to De Kaaskamer the next time I am in Amsterdam!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lizzie94256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Kaaskamer also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Kaaskamer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing