We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee shop!”

Dampkring Coffeeshop
Ranked #5 of 299 Shopping in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great coffee shop!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

It's a super touristic coffee shop in the middle of the shopping area (close to Kalverstraat and Leidsestraat) but it has a good atmosphere. The staff will give you advice on what to use, only bad thing you can't use your cellphone inside.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AiliMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    166
    45
    20
    25
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
epsom, surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“spot on :)”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

one of the best coffee shops in amsterdam.
friendly service and good advice in terms of what to get for novices.
the house cat is a cool aside.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ayubdosani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
261 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“One of the best coffeeshops in Amsterdam”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

It's a comfortable place to visit. The people who work there are friendly and knowledgeable. Don't be shy about asking questions - there are lots of choices and it could be confusing. The staff is happy to discuss their products and make a recommendation. You can buy one joint and share it. Don't overbuy.

Dampkring gets crowded. Tables may be shared. But it's cozy and friendly and people are feeling good. They serve sweets and non-alcoholic drinks. and there's a beautiful, friendly house-cat on the premises.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank elaine212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A little small and usually crowded, but worth persevering”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We thought that we had to check out this side of Amsterdam (when in Rome, right?) so headed to Dampkring. Initially there was no space to sit down (this was at about 1pm, and there was only two of us) so we did other things and came back at around 10pm. It was still crowded but we decided to pick up some of their special cake and a couple of drinks. It isn't overpriced, and it wasn't long before the staff guided us to a recently vacated table. It's a very welcoming atmosphere (having a Cat is always a winner in my book) and not threatening at all. Worth a look, and if there is space, give it a try!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Locke_Lamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stopped by many coffee shops, but this was by far my favourite. It is like a colourful and welcoming little cave with chilled out people and an even more chilled out cat. The staff is really friendly and calm, and it doesn't seem like any question you might have is stupid. We were told all their cannabis is organically grown, which made me feel safe. We never had a problem finding seats, but you might if you're a big group of people.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank spanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dampkring Coffeeshop also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Dampkring Coffeeshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing