We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place for a nice lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gespot

Gespot
Prinsengracht 422, 1016 JC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31 (0)20 3203733
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,745 of 3,323 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Gespot is an Italian/European Bar and Restaurant in a monumental setting which is both stylish and relaxed. Gespot is famous for its Rotisserie (whole Poussin Chicken), Italian Seafoof dishes and the after Dinner Scene. They combine serious cooking with an easy going attitude and value for money. Highly recommended by locals!
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
386 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Great place for a nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We happened to find this place while strolling along the canals and keeping our eye open for a cute spot to eat. We loved the funky atmosphere and were really impressed with the menu. I had the salmon salad and hubby had the spicy peanut soup and little spicy 'meat parcels' - all excellent and very generous portion sizes. We also had beer and wine with the meal and were really happy with the total. Definitely recommend stopping by for the food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank foodie_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    6
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location - food quite nice, but too many mistakes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We'd had a drink outside the bar next door the day before and the food coming out of Gespot looked great so we went there the next night for a meal.
We ordered some appetizers, a couple of the specials and they were quite helpful in offering a non menu item of a chicken dish four son which wasn't on the menu. We were asked if we wanted our appetisers ahead of the mains, which we did.
There was a bit of a wait and I was advised my choice of pork loin was no Ionger available. I chose something else but this was also not available so I ordered a steak. The food came out all at once and my wife's meal was not the salmon she ordered and the owner was also unable to say what it was either.After taking it back to the kitchen he was able to say it was a chicken caesar salad and that the salmon was finished. Too hungry to wait any longer we said we'd have it. My son's chicken never materialised but they did do him some bitterbollen - a dutch type of deep fried meatball - with very nice chips which they didn't charge fo and which he really enjoyed. All our food was pretty good, but the service whilst friendly, was not so good, with a number of mistakes.
I was also a bit irritated to learn later that my wife was charged for the more expensive dish she didn't order rather the one she did.
All in all a really nice place in a great location, food was quite good on the day but the service was chaotic with lots of mistakes..which was a shame.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelD1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“VERY EXPENSIVE for an average bar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The drinks in Gespot are among the most expensive in Amsterdam. 5 euros for their cheapest pint, and similar for house wine. Most people in Amsterdam are packpackers on a budget, and this is not the place I would suggest to have a good night out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank saudet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The restaurant itself looks nice but service and food is terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The service was terrible, the tuna was like catfood. We told them twice but they didn`t listen. It took an argument before they showed it in the kitchen.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank antoinettederiethof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice location, shame about the food and service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

As the location is wonderful, we decided to have a quick lunch there. We ordered two paninis as well as a a piece of apple cake. The apple cake never actually arrived at all, and the paninis were of the most basic sort, tasteless bread with mediocre mozzarella, tomato and no spices (and that €5,50!). The waitress did offer her apologies after we told her about the apple cake though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Youngasialover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gespot also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gespot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing