We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, intimate little place with scrumptious fresh seafood”
Review of Eenvistweevis

Eenvistweevis
Reserve with
Eenvistweevis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #963 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Plantage & the East
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful, intimate little place with scrumptious fresh seafood”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Cute little place - very small so do book! Staff are friendly and the food is great. Fresh oysters were perfect and all seafood is very fresh and lovingly prepared. Service was a little slow but not a problem given the warm ambience of the place and it's worth the wait!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rainsine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    24
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you like fresh fish, sensitively cooked”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

and in generous portions, all without it being too fussy, new wave or clever, then come here.

The night we came, the service was slow, chaotic even (I'm sure there was a good reason), but the food was worth waiting for.

Why would you be in a hurry anyway?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ssleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinnitsa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just charming!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This tiny and inviting restaurant is off the main tourist street, near the University. It feels more like you're visiting friends - the room ends with the bar, and then goes half-open kitchen.
But what really makes this place exceptional, is outstanding quality of ingredients, and the chief's craftsmanship. The menu is short, but every entry is a chef d'oeuvre.
A-must for seafood admirers!
As there are just 7 tables, booking is advised.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DimitryK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
149 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“fish perfection ..”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

this little neighbourhood 'huiskamer' restaurant has been pleasing 'fishionados' quietly for years, yet we only just 'discovered' it ... no worries, we're gonna make up for lost time ..:)
Cod steak with light mustard dressing was 'perfect, the butter-grilled dover soles were 'perfect, the accompanying steamed veggies were 'perfect' ... lightness of meal, washed down with a very pleasant house rioja white , comes to under €30 p.p. which was 'totally worth it'..

other dishes on the menu were turbot, zarzuela, sea-bass... all very tempting, made us 'certain' to be going back very very soon ..

a lovely addition to our 'favorite' list ..

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DWams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Fish Restaurant of Amsterdam”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

If you want to go out for dinner with a Dutch vibe, you should go to this lovely fish restaurant.
It's not touristic at all, but still in the centre of Amsterdam.
For dinner, I choose a wonderful fish plate; a skatewing with beurre noisette. The taste was so intens. My girlfriend took a meatdish, a steak which was great to. Next to the maincourses we got a salad, veggies and patatos which were included the price of a maindish. And before we got some bread with oil and butter served from the house.
The service was excellant. The waitress was very experienced in doing her job, we had a little chit chat and finally she helped us finding our way. The atmospheer in this little restauarant is great with a view on one of the Amsterdam canals. I come very often in Amsterdam and tried quite a lot of fish restaurants, but this experience was by far the greatest. So I definitely recommend to have dinner in Eenvistweevis.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iriebierie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eenvistweevis also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Eenvistweevis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing