We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Awesome CoffeeShop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Voyagers Hotel Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Voyagers Hotel Amsterdam
Save
You added Voyagers Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Geldersekade 2, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Miramar, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
152 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Awesome CoffeeShop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

The coffeeshop is awesome. Louise is the BEST. She welcomes you into this place as if she were welcoming you into her home. Plus, they have all the supplies including Bongs, Volcano bag vaporizers for your use and convenience - FREE OF CHARGE.

Helpful?
4 Thank Jacquelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Being our third trip to Amsterdam we usually stay for one or two days at most, so have stayed in a more expensive hotel. But this time we were there for 4 days and 3 nights and wanted to be more central. We will in future always book here!

We have popped into the coffee shop before when we have been in Amsterdam and was a friendly environment and this time when we arrived we were offered the bigger room if we waited 2 hours which was no problem for us as we went and had breakfast.

Room was lovely, huge bed, nice windows and a radiator. Had the en suite which I advise and it was lovely to have that next door. Very friendly people and made it easy to check in and out as we had an early flight home.

Very clean rooms and very nice. Will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Have room 2 as its at the front and the first up the stairs and has an en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

this is a very basic hotel, but one of the cleanest ive been in ,, the hotel is also a coffeeshop downstairs so you must be 18 years or older to stay,, the room i stayed in was the double with a very big tub shower,, they also have single and triple rooms, the location is great 2 min from Centraal station, , i would def stay he again,,

Room Tip: room number 2 is the best in the hotel imo (always stay in this room) step stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank matty223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Not for everyone really or children as it is above a coffeshop but the rooms are clean if basic, nice hot showers and great view of the canal and centraal station.
The price was probably half that of anything thing else I could find within the area.
Great coffeshop downstairs with good vibes and menu. Would return.

Tip, You can only book through email, You do not have to go through the coffeshop to get to your room, also the steepest staircase known to man (well probably)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

stayed here in December 2012 as we stumbled across the coffee shop on our first trip to the dam a few month's previously & noticed they were a hotel also so took a business card. rooms were 70euro a night for 2 with a 2 night minimum stay at weekends. our room was on the 1st floor to the front with some huge window's looking out onto central station ( it's literally across the road ) had it's own bathroom which was modern & looked quite recently fitted. we picked up our key's from andy the owner on arrival & made our way up the stair's/ladders, very steep, great fun when your baked as a cherry pie ! & defo not suitable for wheelchair's. It's an old dutch building & in my opinion it ad's to the character of the place.
Downstair's is some of the best bud in dam & great music served up by friendly clued up knowledgeable tenders, not your usual commercial rubbish so be warned ! this place is a diamond in the rough & by rough I mean the area. the zeedijk area was notoriously dangerous but not these day's. still some strange characters about but it wouldn't be Amsterdam otherwise would it ? the hotel/coffeeshop is right opposite the central station so easy transfers & easy to find if you get lost in the maze of alleyways as it's right on the corner of the red light district.
Plenty to see, do, smoke, drink & eat close by. good zoo down the road, or for the more adventurous hire a bike & go explore in the wacky race that is Amsterdam, hilarious especially if one of your group is not a good rider, just watch out for canal's ! ( mac bike are none too impressed if they have to retrieve one of their hire bike's from the zeedijk ) would definitely recommend this hotel for couple's & group's looking for a place to lay their head for a fair price. the location is great for the red light distict & everything else as this is where most of the action happens. if you want a quiet, relaxed weekend of sightseeing then this is maybe not the right area, go south out of the city centre, but for the majority of visit's this is just the ticket. the owner's are English, top people who will give you any advice you need if your new to the area. also make sure you give d-bo (the 9 stone puppy) a head scratch & you'll have a friend for life.

Room Tip: the room we had at the front on the 1st floor was noisy but cool to look out of the HUGE windows at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onlywayisEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed at the Voyagers many times,just across the road from central station.Always found the staff very friendly and helpful.A steep climb up winding stairs to the single rooms but the same with most small hotels in Amsterdam.Well worth the stay for those on a limited budget.

Room Tip: Always busy so best to book by email for best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Went for a four day break recently and my boyfriend directed me to this coffee shop as soon as we got off the train. The first time we went in there was such a great couple behind the counter, really friendly, knowledgeable, and took time out for a chat. The following day the most obnoxious rude man was behind the counter and I said to my partner we were never going in there again. I did relent though as it truly is a good place to go. The following day and we were pleased that there was a really pleasant lady behind the counter so we visited again and again! So worth going to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georginavw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#195 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
#207 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#202 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#239 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#55 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#309 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyagers Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyagers Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Voyagers Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Geldersekade 2, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adult hotel only located opposite central station located above the Voyagers Coffee Shop, no larger groups (more than 4 people). Open 10 am close at 23:00. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing