We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B Quartier Neuf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Quartier Neuf
Ranked #42 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Penngrove, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best B&B!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the Quartier Neuf in August. The Quartier Neuf has no website and I found it when I tried to get rooms at the Eel House. Do not let the fact that it does not have have a website put you off, it is the real deal. It is perfectly located in the Jordaan district in the heart of Amsterdam - walking distance to everything. The stairs are very, very steep, and they do squeak, but that is typical in these beautiful old buildings. Two rooms are on the 2nd floor and 2 on the third. They are much larger than I was expecting and so nice, clean and perfect for those wanting to experience living in Amsterdam (vs staying in a hotel). Beds are comfortable and although they are called 'double' they are more like USA queen size. The rooms comes with perfect amenities - blow dryer, shampoo/conditioner, microwave, mini frig, coffee pot, clock, etc. Jaspar even stocks the frig with a complimentary bottle of wine, a few beers, water and juice!

One thing about the bathroom, it is small. The sink is tiny (like a bar sink). The shower does not have a door so it can get a good portion of the bathroom floor wet. This was not a problem for us though, it only added to the special character of this place.

Jaspar, the owner, is the best. One thing to note, there is no signage to this charming place, so it can be easy to just drive by it. But, there was Jaspar waiting on the street to meet, greet and check us in. He made us feel very welcome. We booked 3 out of the 4 rooms there and they were all decorated the same and just perfect. One room has a 'double' bed plus a futon which was great for my 2 grown up sons sharing a room, they were very comfortable. My husband and I had a room on the 2nd floor, facing the back and it was very quiet.

Breakfast comes every morning to your room. We let Jaspar know what time we wanted and there it was. Great food - hard boiled eggs, fresh pastries, meats and cheeses, yogurts, toast. The typical dutch breakfast and it was wonderful.

I cannot recommend this highly place enough to anyone traveling to Amsterdam and wanting to experience living like the dutch. We all felt very safe here. Perfect communication, helpful tips, super pleasant, excellent. It was a great 2 nights, like being at home... only you don't have to make your own bed or your own breakfast! A million thank you's Jaspar!

Room Tip: All rooms are extremely similar. The back room on the 2nd floor is the smallest one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swimom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
55
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Jasper was a friendly and helpful host. Newly renovated room was terrific, except for the minor issue of a shower design that easily floods over into main room. And price a bit steep, but expected in Amsterdam. Breakfast was yummy and location is absolutely perfect. Would definitely recommend for anyone staying in Amsterdam.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TamiStr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Had 3 nights in this great B&B. Communication beforehand was great and all my emails were answered. The access from Centraal is by tram which is dead easy. The place was a little tricky to find as there is no signage on the door. Jasper was there to greet us despite a late arrival. Room was really nice with complimentary drinks in the mini bar and we slept really well on the comfortable bed. Agree with others that the bathroom is small, but it didn't worry us. The access is tricky as the stairs are really steep so I wouldn't recommend here if you are elderly or frail, but it's nothing out of the ordinary for Europe. Jasper was super helpful with advice, maps, etc. We walked or caught the tram everywhere and the 9 streets area is a great place to stay. Breakfast was excellent and on time every day. Would suggest a sign on the door out the front, but otherwise a great place to stay, thanks Jasper!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger_Ninja_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in Quartier Neuf for a whole week and had a great time. The place is in a perfect location. The room was spacious and very clean. Everything is new.
Jasper was a great host and we would definitely choose this place again next time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nogitiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was our first visit to Amsterdam and we were very pleased we had chosen to stay at B & B Quartier Neuf. When we met Jasper on arrival he made us feel very welcome and showed us our room which was very clean and spacious and quiet. The location was excellent and all the museums etc were within easy walking distance, as was the market.
We hope to return again.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room which was at the rear of the property but noise from a nearby building sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
313 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We discovered this B&B by first contacting Eel House. It turns out that the same young couple operate both.
We chose the studio on the top level in the rear and it was very quiet (except for some construction noise next door but that cannot be controlled. It was delightful to wake up to the church bells every morning.
Pluses of the studio--room was a good size, bed was very comfortable, breakfast was served each morning in our room, shower was strong and had hot water, windows could be opened and Jasper is delightful. The location is perfect--we walked everywhere and only took a tram from Central Station the first day since we had our bags. Jasper arranged a cab for us to go to the airport when we left and arranged a 30 Euro fare even though the meter read 42 Euros so ask for that if you are using the airport.
Some minuses - the wifi signal was poor and I had to go out into the hall to receive a signal; this is a typical Amsterdam building with steep steps and no elevator but Jasper handled our luggage; the bathroom sink is ridiculously small and the lighting in the bathroom is poor.
These minuses did not detract from our stay and we would highly recommend this B&B since you actually get a private apartment with breakfast served right in your room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbrown46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed there two nights. We were received by a friend of Jasper who was warm and helpful. The room is very clean and cosy with a little kitchenette, complimentary milk, beer, wine, water, juice in the fridge. The bath is nice too ( wash basin is too small).
On the first day Jasper couldn't make it to serve us breakfast and we couldn't get in touch with him either (phone went unanswered) we had a booking to Kuekenhof hence had to leave home without breakfast. But when we returned we found a bottle of bubbly to compensate for the breakfast.
Next morning everything was perfect and we were served yummy breakfast some of which Jasper packed for us to take along. He also deducted some money from our room rent towards no breakfast on day one.
Overall nice place, walking distance to Anne frank museum, tram station Spui is nearby. Safe neighborhood, plenty of cafes and bars nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#160 of 364 in Amsterdam
266 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#78 of 364 in Amsterdam
820 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#22 of 364 in Amsterdam
564 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal Boutique Apartments
Canal Boutique Apartments
#30 of 226 in Amsterdam
197 reviews
Centrum
Palace B&B
Palace B&B
#34 of 329 in Amsterdam
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Quartier Neuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Quartier Neuf

Property: B&B Quartier Neuf
Address: Wolvenstraat 10, 1016 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your B&B Quartier Neuf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing