We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique place & great experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelboot Angeline

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotelboot Angeline to your Saves list
Hotelboot Angeline
Oosterdok 2, Pier 3, 1011 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 326 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique place & great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed with Hotelboot Angeline last March for a friend's birthday weekend. I stayed in one of the rooms with three beds and it was really great! The room was big enough for three people and the shower was hot. The breakfast was really nice too! The owners were really friendly and gave us a lot of advice for the city as well! It is in a nice location and it was a fun experience to stay on a boat in Amsterdam instead of the usual hostel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 97KateH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

The review for Hotelboot Angeline in our case can only be TRULY POSITIVE!! We were received really warmly by the owners (a lovely Dutch couple who are running the whole business) and since we told them that we are newly-weds at that time, my wife and I were greeted with a free bottle of white wine on our arrival - a little gesture that will stay in our memory forever :) The room we were given was small yet cozy enough and the boat itself had some character to it, breakfast was varied and of good quality and the place in general was tidy and well-organized although no one should expect a huge boat to stroll along. The area around seemed pretty safe and peaceful :) Taken everything into consideration: worth every penny!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank methecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

What a great place to stay! Just like the city, Hotelboot Angeline was fun and quirky. The owners couldn't have done more to help us and the breakfast was fabulous! Cute little cabins for sleeping and spacious deck and social area. Fantastic location. Highly recommend and will be back!!

Room Tip: Bear in mind you're getting an experience of staying on a boat so don't expect plush double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Hotelboot Angeline was a pleasant enough place to spend a night in whilst visiting the bustling city of Amsterdam.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, and worth the money we paid for them (which can not be said of all hostels in Amsterdam, as we have experienced in the past). The bedding was soft and made for a warm night's sleep (which was definitely necessary after a long, wet and cold day!). The staff were lovely throughout and were full of useful tips about places to visit and to avoid. Indeed, the reception desk and bar area is the Angeline's best feature; it is very welcoming and is served by an honesty-fridge, and made for a nice place to start and end our evening. We unfortunately missed out on breakfast due to a late night and an early departure, but the fact that it is included in the price equates to good value for money, and it seemed to be popular enough when we were leaving in the morning.

The rooms were a decent size, though perhaps the lack of natural light and stronger lightbulbs meant that they appeared a little on the dark and dingy side. The same can be said of the bathroom, which was only served by a mirror light. The walls are also rather thin, and we could hear every word of our neighbouring traveller's Skype/phone call conversation back home to America in the morning. However, I am sure that if all visitors abide by the owner's "keep the noise down when you come in at night" rule, it will be possible to get a good night's sleep at the Angeline.

Location wise, it is slightly further away from the city centre than we first anticipated (about 25-30mins walk to Dam Square), and is slightly off the beaten track. The area is safe enough I am sure, but the walk home at night is not very well lit in places, and so I would suggest not staying at the Angeline if the visit is a solo one and you intend to be out and about until the later hours.

All in all, certainly not the worst place I have ever stayed and decent value for money, though I might be inclined to try out another location if visiting "the Dam" ever again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maturín, Monagas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you imagine that staying on a boat is a good idea, you are right! This is a great hostel, i stayed at hotelboot Angeline with 3 other friends and we had a great time, the rooms are nice and clean. The included breakfast is excellent! and the staff is incredibly kind! "The Swimming Pool is included" hahahaha.

They also gave us great tips to get around the city, if you want to have a great time, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RafaelESR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

we stayed here in december and although it snowed the rooms were still really warm. the owners were so good to us, full of advice and they put the heating on for us before we arrived in order for it to be nice and warm when we arrived, as our plane arrived very late.
Also if you are worried about space ... don't as the ceilings are high and beds long enough as dutch people are really tall. also it was only a very very small bit more expensive than some hostels and we had our own room and we slept on A BOAT! it was worth the extra cents!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

When I first heard we were staying in a boat I imagined the worst conditions possible, it would be cold and uncomfortable. Well it was exactly the opposite, the rooms had been new refurbished they were cosy and really clean. The boats can be quite deceiving from the outside, I am definitely planning on staying there the next time I visit Amsterdam. A lot better than a few hotels/hostels where I have stayed and surprisingly cheap for the quality offered.
Just be careful negotiating the piers after a night out!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#33 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,798 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelboot Angeline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelboot Angeline

Address: Oosterdok 2, Pier 3, 1011 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotelboot Angeline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#