We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tales and Spirits

Tales and Spirits
Ranked #43 of 3,558 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Bar, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: We love food, every second, every minute and every hour we think about food. Eating shouldn't be done only three times a day. We like to eat all day long. That is why our kitchen is open till late in the evening. In our kitchen we don't differentiate between starters and main courses. Just order what you like and if you want to eat more, you order another dish. Our kitchen combines the best of different international cuisines, using classic and avant-garde culinary techniques. Did we mention we love food? Hmmmm.... However we might love our drinks even more! The variety in drinks is so big, that nobody should stick to one drink in their life. At T&S we offer you a wide variety of spirits which all have their own story. We like to introduce you to new flavor combinations in our drinks and tell you the tale of the spirits which come together in your glass.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

I had to review this place before leaving Amsterdam because it comes highly recommended by all my friends and the place did not disappoint.
Amazing place, just fantastic atmosphere!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    105
    20
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Epic place to visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Wanting a place to go away from the tourist trap we visiting Tales and Spirits this week. It was the most inviting and welcoming bar that I went to in Europe. Sure we only had some (very tasty)bar snacks and a couple of cocktails but totally dedicated and exceptionally friendly staff ensured that our experience was 100%. Thanks, I will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stumpy308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“the most welcoming place in all Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We've been to quite a few restaurants/pubs in Amsterdam during our stay, but this was definitely unforgettable. The two waiters amaized us with their people skills and with their good mood. They adviced us cornening what cocktails to drink, they asked us later about them and yes, the drinks trully are fabulous! Creative, delicious and unique. Take for example "what if" and stick to more rum for a nice mojito. Mmmm!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank veronica_stan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cocktails and Yummy snacks at the bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

I went with friends who live in Amsterdam, it was their first time their too. The atmosphere was great really relaxed and friendly. The cocktail menu was extensive and the experienced bar tender devised individual cocktails to meet the taste buds of our group. The bar food was excellent quality and the whole experience was fantastic, would love to go back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scooble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a fantastic cocktail bar - small but full of charm and authenticity with the bartender really understanding his art!

The cocktail menu is wonderful and the bartenders are excellent at understanding what you will like.

The atmosphere in this little place is such that you could quite easily stay here for hours and lose total track of time.

Helpful?
Thank Joheuston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tales and Spirits also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tales and Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing