We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and interesting cocktails!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tales and Spirits

Tales and Spirits
Ranked #43 of 3,562 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Bar, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: We love food, every second, every minute and every hour we think about food. Eating shouldn't be done only three times a day. We like to eat all day long. That is why our kitchen is open till late in the evening. In our kitchen we don't differentiate between starters and main courses. Just order what you like and if you want to eat more, you order another dish. Our kitchen combines the best of different international cuisines, using classic and avant-garde culinary techniques. Did we mention we love food? Hmmmm.... However we might love our drinks even more! The variety in drinks is so big, that nobody should stick to one drink in their life. At T&S we offer you a wide variety of spirits which all have their own story. We like to introduce you to new flavor combinations in our drinks and tell you the tale of the spirits which come together in your glass.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great staff and interesting cocktails!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

The cocktail selection was great and certainly very interesting.

The staff were great and the host Ana was so lovely! They give a small bottle of water for every cocktail you order because they are so potten.

It was a good experience and one of the bar staff recommended a great bar in Budapest which we went to.

Don't forget to walk down the lane across the bar to see some red light ladies :)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay_Dhillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    105
    20
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Special Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Came here with friends about a week ago to celebrate my birthday, and it probably was the best birthday dinner I've ever had. We started with amazing cocktails as aperteifs, had two courses and desert with great wine to match, and at every stage people were raving about their food and drink choices as some of the best they've had. One of those evenings where every drink and every plate was a home run!

It's certainly on the pricey side- more a special occasion place to visit on my usual budget- but the service and atmosphere and food are impeccable (and even if you just want to go for drinks that's fine here, it's arguably the best cocktails you'll have in Amsterdam).

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andromeda321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Drinking is a serious thing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I read about this bar on a guide, that describe it as best bar in the world. No matter how the bill will be, i need to try it, i said myself. Not far away from Dam Square and the port, Tales and spirit is an elegant bar, modern but contemporary, with the right design. i went here three times, in couple of days. The guys working behind the desk, are friendly, passionate and serious. The list got beautiful drinks, complex, with special names. Also the glasses for an example of my long island was special. Water before any drink, young people around, only the music not match the perfect atmosphere in the air. by the way, maybe not the best bar in the world, i don't know, but for sure a place building with passion, elegance and heart. that's what a i need, a dynamic vibration inside, the cool touch of modern respecting the tradition. If you're in amsterdam, this is an address you can't miss.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top Notch Cocktail Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have been living in Amsterdam for over 7 years and T&S is by far the coziest yet elegant and cheeq bar I have ever been to. The cocktails are very creative and delicious. The presentation is very entertaining. Also, the food which you don't expect from every cocktail bar is rather good. The options are limited but the taste compensates that.

In T&S, one has many options I think. It is a place in which you can either start the night with few cocktails before going for dinner or you can combine drinks with dinner or even visit the place after dinner when they turn the volume of the music a littler higher.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anil79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
286 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Perfect New Year's Eve Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We just spent New Year's Eve at this innovative restaurant. Upon entering we noticed the enormous bar and rustic atmosphere. One would think that the restaurant serves nachos and mozzarella sticks. But instead, we had one of the best New Year's Eve meals ever. I had been emailing the restaurant for weeks about a reservation and to inquire about a vegetarian option for their prix fixed menu for the evening. We sat down and noticed that the restaurant had printed menus for our meal. What a wonderful touch to a special night. The chef was very creative in his choice of vegetarian selections. Each course was so delicious that we could not wait for the next one! The waitstaff was very attentive and the timing of the dishes was perfect. We will always have very fond memories of our New Year in Amsterdam.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shampeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tales and Spirits also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tales and Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing