We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fabulous Evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tales and Spirits

Tales and Spirits
Ranked #48 of 3,368 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Bar, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: We love food, every second, every minute and every hour we think about food. Eating shouldn't be done only three times a day. We like to eat all day long. That is why our kitchen is open till late in the evening. In our kitchen we don't differentiate between starters and main courses. Just order what you like and if you want to eat more, you order another dish. Our kitchen combines the best of different international cuisines, using classic and avant-garde culinary techniques. Did we mention we love food? Hmmmm.... However we might love our drinks even more! The variety in drinks is so big, that nobody should stick to one drink in their life. At T&S we offer you a wide variety of spirits which all have their own story. We like to introduce you to new flavor combinations in our drinks and tell you the tale of the spirits which come together in your glass.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My friends and I have just returned from a weekend in Amsterdam and I feel compelled to write this review. We went for a meal here on Saturday 9th November having booked a table after reading previous reviews. The evening was fantastic. There were 4 of us in our party (average age 48 years - all female) and we had a ball. The staff were attentive, the atmosphere was lively and the cocktails and food were just great. The street was a bit difficult to find but when I telephoned the restaurant to explain that I couldn't find them the guy came out on to the street to find us!
I have eaten out in a number of great restaurants and I have had far too many cocktails in my time but I can honestly say this place is one of the best I have been to in terms of fun, friendliness and warmth.
I wholeheartedly recommend it. (Booking a table is advisable!)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    89
    19
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic T&S”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

this cocktail bar, speakeasy style, it not only beautiful, doesn't only have incredible cocktails, but also fantastic food. Small tasteful and sophisticated dishes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabin04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Creative delicious drinks worth their price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great selection, amazing presentation (ken doll in a bathtub!!!), a bit on the expensive side but absolutely worth it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PolishAmsterdammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
139 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“In the right spirit for sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Was introduced to this place by a Dutch colleague for after-office drinks. And what a gem it turned out to be.

Tucked in an alleyway with a nondescript entrance, the charm of Tales & Spirits only revealed itself behind those thick velvet curtains. Bare brick wall, suspended chandeliers, dimly-lit interior all add to the mystique vibe of the place.

The drinks certainly do not disappoint. But be warned, the food portions are tiny.

I ordered the Beef Tenderloin - Grilled beef shoulder tenderloin with smoked bacon, cream of onion, grapes marinated in curry and pommes carré. It was beautifully cooked and presented. Exquisite flavours, as the combination of the beef, bacon, grapes and curry danced circles on my taste buds.

I paired that with What if...? - a twist on the Daiquiri with Bacardi Superior, Fresh lime and pineapple- ginger shrub. And it was sublime.

Then I had Fallen Lady. "In honour of the hard working, honest women of the neighborhood, unjustly referred to throughout history as "fallen" women. A sexy combination of Ketel One vodka, Mozart dark chocolate liqueur, raspberry syrup, fresh lemon juice and Bittermen's Burlesque bitters." The ladies of the night would be so proud!

The whole cocktail bar-restaurant experience was so intoxicating I actually came back the next day where Old-Fashioned Whisky and bitterballen ruled the night!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jameskenglim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Must visit bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This bar is well located, nicely designed and has fabulous drinks, The food looked great but we already had reservations. The bar has a story of a woman and her lover drawn in panels across the front and there are interesting nick nacks and quote everywhere, including the toilets! Drinks are very well made and interesting too with lovely staff. A must visit when here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpartout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tales and Spirits also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tales and Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing