We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Tales and Spirits

Tales and Spirits
Ranked #50 of 3,805 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Bar, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: We love food, every second, every minute and every hour we think about food. Eating shouldn't be done only three times a day. We like to eat all day long. That is why our kitchen is open till late in the evening. In our kitchen we don't differentiate between starters and main courses. Just order what you like and if you want to eat more, you order another dish. Our kitchen combines the best of different international cuisines, using classic and avant-garde culinary techniques. Did we mention we love food? Hmmmm.... However we might love our drinks even more! The variety in drinks is so big, that nobody should stick to one drink in their life. At T&S we offer you a wide variety of spirits which all have their own story. We like to introduce you to new flavor combinations in our drinks and tell you the tale of the spirits which come together in your glass.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

brilliant place. Great service, great good and amazing cocktails. Very cool all round. Its a small place, so better suited to couples or small groups. Sharing concept for the food so order lots of options and enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sheyan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    117
    23
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very cool”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a very cool place and I am surprised it has not gotten more reviews. It's centrally located and draws a very hip and young crowd. The drinks are amazing and the food is really inventive. The portions are larger than tapas so you won't be over stuffed but definitely satisfied. Like it so much we true to go twice on our week long trip, which we generally try not o do.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jenglar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A gem in the middle of the city.”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This little place has just opened and it is wonderful. The bar staff at our hotel recommended this place as he had trained under the guidance of the owner and the concierge told us that he had been there the night before.
It's a small place with about 15 tables and some bar chairs.
we were told to order the "what if" cocktail by the hotel staff and this was very good and very strong!!!! The way the ordering goes is that you can order plates out and it's like a larger version of tapas.
we had the steak tartar, the lobster . chicken and another one or two things. Yummy cannot begin to describe it.
the toilet is upstairs with very steep steps down so do be careful after a few cocktails.
Very good would return here in a heartbeat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xc90dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a cocktail bar”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were a group of nine in to try the cocktails. The restaurant was fairly empty but they jammed us into the corner of the bar. The cocktails I had were not nice. My girlfriend couldn't drink hers and went on to the prosecco. One of the barmen was very rude and aggressive because he had to ask us to move. I tried to explain there was no room. It only made him worse. It really embarrassed our group. We paid and left. I am never going back. I'd recommend you to go to canal house it has better cocktails and is near by and they are not as portentous.

Helpful?
1 Thank E2DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What if ...”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Really professionals and passionate people offering us what they would like to receive ... What if ...we just go there and enjoy ?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lausannebynight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tales and Spirits also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tales and Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing