We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Its ok, first choice was full.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saigon Caphe Leidseplein

Saigon Caphe Leidseplein
Reserve with
Saigon Caphe Leidseplein is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,098 of 3,680 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $8 - $37
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Vietnamese Specialties Restaurant, Pho Bo, a in house made traditional beef soup with rice noodles, assorted toppings and also fresh herbs. Very fresh and healthy!
Sheffield
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Its ok, first choice was full.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We wanted to get in the Mexican nearby but it was full so we ate here. They told us we had to order within 10 minutes because they were closing. The food was fine but the service was a bit random. All the staff were sat around a table eating their food at the end of the night and I had to get up to pay the bill. I didnt mind but some people would have been horrified by this.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bigmeads21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    62
    23
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This VietAsian restaraunt was a real surprise. I had a green curry dish that was excellent. Also had really good cocktails, service, and comfortable contempory atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank timothy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent Vietnamese food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I have been here a couple of times, before and after my trip to Vietnam. The food is definitely good and you can find some typical Vietnamese food that you cannot find in any other place in Amsterdam.
The service is decent and the location (really close to Leidseplein) it's just perfect.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious Vietnamese food and friendly staffs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

It is very good atmosphere with delicious food! They have a joyful waitress, who always had smiles on her face, such that giving customers very warm feeling!
Food is extremely good! Vietnamese doing rolls and lemon grass ice tea are recommended! Well services!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MUChampions2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We are not that familiar with Vietnamese food but are Thai food addicts - so tried out Saigon Cafe. The restaurant is very well appointed with friendly young staff - with tables afording overviews of the busy street - so first impressions were excellent. Toilets were sparklingly clean.
Starters of goi cuon tom thit heo and goi cuon ga nuong sat were excellent - given an extra zing by the dipping sauce provided. Prawn lemongrass curry (ca ri tom) was absolutely lovely but we found the beef noodle dish (bo pho xao) a little mild - needing a zing from an extra dipping sauce we requested. While everything else was excellent (including a Saigon beer and a Jameson whiskey) the noodle dish was somewhat dissapointing. As we are more used to Thai food, perhaps our choice of this particular dish was not suited to our taste - but we will learn in due course I expect.
The food at €52 for two was very reasonable and we will be back to Saigon Cafe when next in Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RostrevorNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Caphe Leidseplein also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Saigon Caphe Leidseplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing