We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Busy bar with lots of character” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Langereis

Cafe Langereis
Ranked #553 of 3,561 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, Bar, Cafe, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Wigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Busy bar with lots of character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Popped in for one - stayed for three! The atmosphere was lively, relaxed and chatty - almost bo-ho. Enjoyed the feel of the place, friendly customer group, welcoming service. A welcome retreat on the stroll around the local area just away from Rembrandtplein. Looks like you are aiming no-where and this is on an open corner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    33
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Waitress/bartender was so nice and friendly. Great food. Perfect first stop for our trip here in Amsterdam. Would definitely recommend as a nice place to stop and relax.

Helpful?
3 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermeo, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really nice little café”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had a lovely cup of tea in this very nice café situated in the heart of Amsterdam. Nicely decorated, with a wide array of games to help you enjoy a quite afternoon. Of course, being all the games in dutch didn´t quite help us but that´s really not the point. Big thumbs up for the lovely lady who was tending at the time we arrived who, I must say, had the most excellent musical taste. There was not a single song she chose I didn´t like. Top marks.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Place of Character and Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Our first venture from the hotel, we happened upon this wonderful little café, situated conveniently away from the bustle of Rembrandt Square, but not too far away when you need to head on into the maelstrom.

A warm welcome with smiles, enthusiastic service - from the lady in particular - recommendations for beer and food in house, great food, and selection of home-made cakes by the chef.

The place has an old-world character; an upright piano sits in the corner amidst an abundance of board games and photographs of local scenes. The decór is traditional; wooden tables and chairs with candles, small flowers and deep red, heavy curtains that keep out the winter breeze.

The bar is well-stocked with spirits and all the beer you need is right there either in the fridge or on tap. The coffee is as mainland European as you would expect; quality, fresh and served to your table with a smile. There is a fully English translation of the menu, should you be stuck for words, and the general nature of this city is that almost everyone speaks English so don't be afraid to ask. In the evenings the bar is said to become a small live music venue, though we were elsewhere and didn't experience this for ourselves.

We loved this little café so much we returned on our last day in Amsterdam, to mark the end of a successful trip. A game of chess, a final locally brewed beer and a goat's cheese and ham panini was a fine cap to an excellent weekend. I recommend it to anyone who needs to find peace and sanctuary in a vibrant and intoxicating city, and I shall certainly return in the future in hope of a familiar sense of character.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Paramorpheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice café”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very nice little café. We went there twice and tried some of their sandwiches and the delicious cake of the week.

Good service, nice atmosphere and a playful cat wondering around made for nice stop while visiting this beautiful city.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maury C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Langereis also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Langereis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing