We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grandcafe Hermes

Grandcafe Hermes
Reserve with
Grandcafe Hermes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #313 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

When I asked the hotel , where can I eat at this time , the told me the Hermes serves good food. We'll , not it does serve good food with a friendly smile but it made go for the second evening also. I stayed at Sloderdijk station to a hotel and despite that the area has nothing around , the Hermes brasserie is an oasis.
Good food , friendly stuff and a very friendly owner also.
I recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank angelo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    140
    26
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Food is great but expensive. Staff is very professional, service was fast. Nice ambience and within walking distance of the Holiday Inn Express

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank caphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Cheap lux”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Don't let the outside fool you, fantastic food and atmosphere inside, even though the building need a quick shine outside. Love it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Per W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Albayati K”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Every thing excellent; very very friendly staff, very very tasty beer and very very delicious food, I recommend any Amsterdam's guest should come to enjoy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Albayati2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply the very best with a friendly, family atmosphere ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have been visiting this incredible restaurant for the past three years. I travel 10+ months a year throught Europe, Asia, South America and the US ... I eat approximately 90% of my meals outside my home. Do not get me wrong, I am not complaining ... I see the world in ways many never will ... and I experience meals all over the world ... typically, I never looked forward to my culinary experiences in ND, love the people, the culture, and have many friends here (and from here - like Keese in BKK) ... and I have eaten spare ribs all over the planet with notable meals in the US, Japan, Brazil and Canada ... but nowhere ... not anywhere ... has spare ribs that are consistently tender,delicious and seemingly constantly getting better every time I am fortunate enough to be able to dine there ... I only get here 5-7 times a year ... but this restaurant is so good ... I stay at the Holiday Inn next door rather than many other options just because of it's close proximity to the Grandcafe Hermes ... and Peter and his staff are like family ... they remember you, care for your dining experience and are passionate in what they do ... you can pay more (a lot) ... but you will never dine better ... the spare ribs alone are worth the price of coming to Amsterdam ... Thank you Peter!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandcafe Hermes also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Grandcafe Hermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing