We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you look for when traveling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pilsvogel

Pilsvogel
Gerard Douplein 14 | 1072 VE, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)
020 6646483
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,000 of 3,335 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“All you look for when traveling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Tapas, red Wine, good and friendly service. Food is spot on; not pretentious, but honest and super well made. Was served with a smile within 10 min. after ordering.
Dimmed light, cosy and relaxed atmosphere.
We recommend.... Thanks.

Helpful?
1 Thank JesperEdvardsen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    34
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“friendly corner, one block from the hectic market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

A good "brown" café with a funny name. Ask the bartender for an explanation of "Pilsvogel" and you'll never forget this evening out.
We were there on a rainy November night, did not sit outside, already ate at another place and were happy to have made the walk over here none the less.
This is one of those places you have to know about or you'll miss it. So, now you know: don't miss this one!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Recommended by a local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

This bar was recommended by a lady we spoke to in Amsterdam who lived in the area. It was very lively, the staff were friendly and the food was good, the portions are large. We both had the chicken satay which was great as was the beer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinS39194S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Askola, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We found this restaurant and ate here. I can rekommend this restaurant! We ate the dish of the day and food was absolutely delicious.They were decoreted candels, and give us blankets when its coming dark. Only minus was the price of water!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TKirsiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere..ok food/beer selection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The atmosphere at Pilsvogel is good! It's on a fun busy corner that's lively and scenic. There's picnic bench seating which isn't that comfortable but very casual, as is the atmosphere. They decorate with candles, colored lights, and have heated lamps outside which makes it nice when the weather is chilly. Mys husband and I had only two of the "tapas" selections and a couple of drinks. The drink menu is small with only 13-14 selections of beer that I recall. The "tapas" are not REAL Spanish tapas. So do not come here if that's what you are looking for. It's a nice place for a drink and a chat but not a great dining experience. The waitress brought us the wrong beer the first time but we only speak English so maybe that was a language difficulty. Staff was efficient, friendly, and attentive. I would return but not if I wanted real tapas.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrownBeauty0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilsvogel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Pilsvogel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing