We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice, friendly and quiet Place!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Isis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Isis
Ranked #263 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice, friendly and quiet Place!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Only about 10 Minutes walk to the ferry. From there another 10 Minutes to Downtown.
Friendly Staff, clean and quiet Rooms. Coffeshop, Supermarket and a really good Nepali Restaurant around the corner.
We come back again.......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charas67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    42
    32
    19
    27
See reviews for
16
64
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Located a short ferry ride (free) from Central Train station, this hotel offers reasonably priced rooms in a small hotel setting. The area is remarkably quiet, the hotel is clean, although the walls could use a magic eraser to remove finger prints....
Friendly front desk staff. Rooms are on the small side although the bathroom was spacious. No place to hang your clothes in the room , could use some hooks or a rack. High ceilings with large windows, so not dark at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinmoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and I wont go back

Cons:
- no private parking, dont go, like we did, with a brand new car, this neigborhood is not the best
- first morning there was no hot water for shower, not even warm one
- furniture is really old and dusty
- you cant really open the windows
- no breakfast available

Pros:
- Guys from the reception are nice
- the bed was comfortable
- 5 min walk to the ferry

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank npapke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgin Gorda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel was a better price because it was actually across the river, behind the train station, as opposed to being in the main part of town, in front of the station. But in actuality, the ferry only takes about five minutes, runs about every 5 to 7 minutes and is fun. The walk from the ferry is about 5 minutes, too. So it is probably closer to all the action than some of the other hotels on the same side of the river as the station that are charging much more.
The staff was friendly and accommodating. Put us in an upper, back room away from the noise of the street. Held our bags while we went out and explored because the room wasn't ready. We were only there 2 days, so spent little time actually in the room, but had everything we needed. The shower was strong and the bathroom big.
We would go back and stay at the Isis Hotel if ever in Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: There is a neighborhood bar right below, so ask for a room up higher and in the back if you have sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amyart57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Hotel Isis is situated in North Amsterdam. Just a five minute walk from the free ferry service, will get you in the heart of the city. The surroundings are quiet and family oriented. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are clean. I would definitely return to this hotel. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be close to the heart of the city but appreciates to lodge in a quiet area. Suitable for solo, couple and/or family and groups.

Room Tip: I scored Fitness centre and swimming pool as average since I am not aware that the hotel have these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OMAMO1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
191 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We mainly choose this hotel for the price.
The location is nord amsterdam, that means that to go to the centre you have to go by ferry.
Quiet area, there is nothing but houses nearby.
Room are clean.
Staff is the farest thing from the "customer service" concept.
Windows do not open, due to lack of maintenance. no hair soap, just body one. towels are for babies, not adult.
Surprise! no room cleaning. the way you leave your room in the morning, is the exact way you will find when back.
The description says "public parking available". It is true. Unfortunately I reported the car glass breaking from a thief during overnight recovery. Then I discovered from the policeman that this is a high dangerous area for parking.
This was not reported in the description. Hope that the staff will remove that "facility".
A lot of money lost thanks to their recommendation. Be aware!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

After reading numerous reviews about this hotel we gave it a try, considring the price and location in Amsterdam that was a good offer. However the bed wasnt double - twin one, no one told us they have changed this option. As the room was just behind the entrance - we heard noise coming from upstairs when guests were climbing the stairs. The TV option requires a deposit 10eur, no air conditioning, old furniture and wifi was veeery bad... overall we gave 2 stars as we had experience in such quality hotels and it was much more pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katherinem474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
#203 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Prinsenhuis
Prinsenhuis
#107 of 331 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Ozo Hotel
#71 of 331 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xaviera Hollander's Happy House
#122 of 331 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#103 of 331 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isis

Property: Hotel Isis
Address: Spreeuwenpark 17, 1021 GS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Isis 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Isis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing